Salsa Ninety Nine (Mild) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I scaled this down to 20 servings and while it was still good there was too much sugar. Hubby said it almost tasted like a "dessert" salsa. I also didn't peel the tomatoes because hubby doesn't mind the skins. A great way to use up the garden seconds. Will make again with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
This is the best! I used roma tomatoes for my first batch, which worked out wonderfully. I made a half batch and then split that batch in half to make mild and "hotter than blazes." Used almost twice as much cilantro as the recipe called for and slightly less brown sugar. I added five or six Thai chili peppers from our garden to the mild batch of salsa. My husband added a couple of scotch bonnets to his batch. I cooked the peppers and onions in the sauce for about 15 minutes before adding the tomatoes as recommended. I also added the cornstarch at the end right before I bottled it up. I will never buy commercial salsa again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Absolute best! If you are looking for salsa that tastes close to Carlos O'Kelly's, then this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladora, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This is the THIRD year that I've made this recipe from fresh garden tomatoes. The only substitute that I make is that I add 1/2 cup lime juice and 1/2 cup vinegar. No sugar, our tomatoes are sweet enough. ####Perfect replica of my favorite mexican restaurant's salsa. I only wish I could figure out what kind of chips they use. YUMMMY. This makes a ton so be prepared to give to friends. Of course, it is hard to hand over that perfect yummy jar. I have a hard time sharing. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Excellent recipe! Made using only Roma and Grape Roma tomatoes. Blanched tomatoes for about 1 minute to loosen skins prior to peeling. I chopped all of the ingredients in food processor and cooked for 45 mins. I reduced the salt in 1/2. Replaced vinegar and jalepenos with a 16 oz jar of sliced jalepenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Absolutely excellent salsa. I made mine like an authentic Mexican restaurant by throwing everything in the food processor. Using this method, I probably saved some time too. I used twice as many jalapenos and probably could use even more. I definitely will make this again. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I have made this recipe for 3 years now, and all of my family enjoys receiving it as Christmas presents!! I am able to make a "Hot" recipe, as well as a "Mild" recipe. It is simply the best salsa we have ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Very time consuming and a little too sweet for my taste. Good recipe...but i think i like the fresh better. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was super delicious. We will probably add a few more jalapenos next time to kick it up because we are eating this stuff way too fast. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
While this recipe is time consuming, it is the best homemade recipe ever. We added more jalapenos because we like it hot! We split the batch in two and added one habanero to half the batch. It's hot, but oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States