Salsa Ninety Nine (Mild) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
We made this the other day and did exactly what it asked for and it turned out great!!! We have given jars to family and have them sent back empty, wanting more. Thank goodness the garden is producing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This took some time to make but it was so worth it. I canned them but they didn't last long. Sooo good! I would definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
The use of tomato paste in this salsa gave it a weird texture. In addition, the taste was just "blah". Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was FANTASTIC. Everyone has raved about it!! I thought the batch was huge, but we have gifted and used almost the whole thing! If you LOVE salsa, THIS IS THE ONE TO TRY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Awesome salsa recipe! Scared to make a large recipe of salsa - I did half this recipe the first time around and had family sample for approval. Awesome salsa recipe - mild and slightly sweet. On the second time around, I skipped the water part = I just removed 1.5 c hot tomato/salsa, stirred the cornstarch in, and added it all back in. Gets really thick but I have a high salsa to chip ratio anyways. For those of you who've made a few different versions of salsa before, you can play around with the heat (ie: chili powder, red peppers, or hot sauce) without losing the spicy sweet essence of this recipe. A must try for any novice or if you want to mix up your salsa selections. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This is just great,I made 18 qts so far. I changed the amounts of the peppers. I put 1 1/2 cups jalapeno and cut the bell to 2 cups. I make salsa every year, and wanted to try something new. I'll always use this from now on. Thanks Marie in Oklahoma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is a great recipe if you need to make a lot of salsa or want to make a bunch at once and can it or freeze it. We cut the recipe by about a fourth and it still made about 8 cups. We froze it in 2 cup sizes, as the bottles at the store are 16 ounces. These are the modifications I made to the recipe, for our 1/4 size batch. I did my own calculations, as I didn't trust the ones on the site to be accurate enough, and they did turn out with different numbers than I did. I actually didn't have as much fresh tomatoes as it called for (nor did I have a food mill), so I actually just used 1/2 the amount in fresh tomatoes and 1/2 the amount in crushed tomatoes, and it turned out great. I used 4 large tomatoes. With the fresh tomatoes, I peeled them by cutting an x on the non-stem end and dipping them in boiling water to make the peel easier to remove. Then I cut them into quarters and put them into my food processor (I didn't bother seeding them). I put the crushed tomatoes into the food processor as well (one large 28 oz can) of crushed tomatoes and one 6 ounce can of tomato paste. Then you boil all of this and while this is boiling down (to reduce the liquid) you can work on chopping everything else. We used 1/2 bunch of cilantro, 1 bell pepper (seeded) and one onion, 1/2 head of crushed garlic and one seeded jalapeno pepper. I had never worked with jalapeno before, and I used gloves to handle it. I was afraid of making it too spicy, so I only used 1 pepper, but after I tasted a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This is a great salsa recipe. I've searched for an "authentic" salsa recipe to mimic my favorite restaurant's recipe and this definitely hits the mark. I've made it several times following the 2o serving recipe and have a several things I changed to fit my tastes. Depending on how many serving you want to prepare you should adjust your cook time. For 20 servings, you will only have to boil 30 minutes at the most to reduce it by 1/3. I boiled the tomatoes until the skin cracked to help with peeling them. I doubled the cilantro because I love the flavor it gives the salsa. I used 4 large jalepeno peppers and 2 serrano peppers to get a nice medium heat. I did not use the bell peppers because if I wanted that kind of salsa I'd just buy a jar of Pace. I also didn't use 1/2 head of garlic. Just use maybe a third of it. I made this once and it had no heat at all. I figured out that I accidentally put the peppers in when I first started boiling the tomato mixture. If you do that it'll cook all the heat out of the peppers. It'll smell hot as fire, but actually be kind of sweet tasting. If the salsa is too "soupy" for your taste try saving 1/4 of the tomato chunks that you prepared at the beginning to throw in with your peppers towards the end of the cooking cycle. I hope this will help others learn from my mistakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I used this for my salsa this past summer and it is a hit!!! I made 2 1/2 batches and adjusted the peppers each time to make different levels of hotness. I had planted salsa peppers and they worked great for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANNE SHALD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is by far the best salsa I have ever tasted. I go to Mexican restaurants and it doens't compare to this recipe. It took a little bit longer than for us to make it, but I would double the batch next time because my family has already went through 5 jars in about 3 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States