Salsa Ninety Nine (Mild) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This is nowhere near hot enough fro me. I did seed the jalapeno, so that might be part of it. I'm going to add some red pepper flakes to get the heat up.This salsa doesn't look as red as I would like it, with all the cilantro it just turned sort of brownish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
My family and I LOVE this recipe! I have made it for the last five or six years and have been told many times that this is the "Best Salsa ever". I make it as listed but also add about 1/2 cup of diced fresh carrots for some added crunch and sweetness and some extra fresh cilantro. The only draw back of making this is that it does take ALL day. However, I pack it in hot canning jars and it keeps very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faeirywoman
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Ive tried a lot of salsa! But this one is my new favourite. I was afraid of dissapointment (since I have been quite a few times in the past) so I reduced the recipe quite a bit and now I'm dying to make more. Its perfectly balanced iny opinion unless your not a coriander and garlic person of course. I love both so I couldn't help adding more ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Nice because it wasn't as watery as other fresh salsas, but we like the chunky non-cooked versions better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
At a farmers market a while ago I got a PILE of tomatoes very cheap at the end of the season. I made this massive amount - froze more half in plastic freezer bags. My son loved it, and I used much of it in all kinds of Mexican recipes. I cut and pasted the recipe and put it under 'Food', one of my word files. When going through the 'freezer' somehow a bag of it was still around, and it was . . . five years old (embarrassing) because it was such a hit - out of curiosity I thawed it to see how it was . . . amazing, it was still pretty good. We are having our 25 anniversary in ten days I'll be making this again, but probably with canned tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I have a small to medium garden each year...just kills me to throw out the large amount of tomatoes that I have as I take down the garden. Last year tried homemade salsa for the first time with this recipe....Absolutely wonderful! I took out the seeds from the jalapenos....should have left about 1/3 in. (this depends on the size of the veggie too i think since the heat comes from the seeds and center) Be sure to wear gloves when handling the jalapenos... Made this again this year. Used my large roaster that I use during holidays...worked out well! Yielded 27 pint jars...Be sure you have all things cut and ready so that you can keep the string going. This year, I used seeds and core in half of the jalapenos...just a bit spicier/hotter...still not bad. Very good flavor! If you are a beginner, have all things prepared before cooking starts. You can peel and core toms ahead of time and freeze if necessary....I gave jars away to daycare families for xmas with goody bags....they all raved about this! Don't think I need to look for another recipe since everyone seems to love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I enjoyed this a lot. I scaled it WAYYY back to four servings because of what I had in the garden. Also, I did not process it--I could have eaten the whole amount in just one sitting. I did not find it to be too sweet, as other had mentioned. The directions confused me a little. Once I had everything in one pot, I just transferred it all into my food processor and gave it a few spins. Great smooth-ish texture and wonderful, fresh flavor. The only real changes I made we extra garlic and a squeeze of fresh lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is a really great recipe. I've only made salsa a couple of times, and this one will be my go-to recipe from here on out. Just sweet enough, just tangy enough, and just spicy enough. My toddlers even enjoy it! What more can you ask for??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This salsa is the best. I cut the batch size down because I only had 9 lbs of tomatoes. The only changes I made were adding little more cilantro and leaving out the tomato paste. (I love cilantro and relized to late that I didn't have the tomatoe paste) Otherwise I followed the recipe as stated. According to my husband, "It is the best salsa I have never had." That is good enough for me. I will be making a whole batch to can this weekend. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I was really looking forward to making this recipe, but I must say we didn't really enjoy it. Tasted like jarred salsa mixed with brown sugar. Hard to describe the taste.. just different. It was okay on/in things, but not by itself. It was very time consuming, not worth all of the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States