Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Let me just say that This is an excellent recipe and it got rave reviews but I would suggest little changes to suit your personal tastes. It has a wonderful fresh flavor and mine was on the chunky side which everyone liked. The main modification that I made was the amount of Jalapenos. I listened to some other reviewers and used only 1/2 of a pound of jalapenos and the seeds from only 3 of them (it was about 12 jalapenos for the 1/2 pound). It was very spicy at that. 1/2 pound was just about right....spicy and just hot enough to be flavorful but not so hot that it is unbearable. It does leave a little burn on your tongue but I thought it was exactly right I don't think that anyone that I know could actually eat this concotion if you used the full pound of jalapenos and used the seeds as well. I would definitely suggest to start on the low side and add jalapenos as needed to your taste. Also, I followed this recipe exactly and measured out the tomatos, etc....It only made 3/4 of a gallon instead of 1 1/2 gallons that the recipe states. I didn't boil it very long either. My other substitution was lime juice for the lemon juice...I prefer the taste of lime. All in all, I loved this and have been asked to make someone a batch for Christmas. I will be keeping this recipe in a safe place. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is Kikiwood. I have found a variation that my family really likes. I now take the jalapenoes and roast them in a cast iron skillet until the skin is black. The skin then comes off easily and it gives the salsa a more complex flavor. I'm glad that everyone has been enjoying the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2001
WOW--what a salsa! I cut the recipe in half and canned it, and still had a bunch! Everyone who has eaten this has loved the fresh taste. I did use fewer jalepenos, because I used the seeds when I chopped them. Next time I think I will deseed some of them, and include more jalepenos for their great taste, but not all their spice. I also added more cilantro, because that's what our tastes like. I plan on passing this one out canned, and making more! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
Wow, this recipe is HOT. It is the best as far as taste and consistency goes. I won't make anythin else. We had company from the Middle East and from Europe. I put this out with some chips and they(everybody) absoluetly loved it. They took the recipe back with them. I eliminated the powdered pepper and it was still too HOT! I added a large can of Pureed tomatoes and that toned it down and actually improved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
My husband & I make and can salsa every year with the vegetables from our garden. We have tried many recipes and this is the best by far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I made this salsa with some adjustmennts I did not use thew cilantro because there was none availible also i used fresh garlic rather than the garlic powder. to make A mild salsa I did not use the pound of jalpeno peppers instead I used 1 TAblespoon chopped hot peppers and 1 can of chopped mild green chilies. This made A very tasty mild salsa that i greatly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This was my first experience making salsa and I am very pleased with the result. Great taste and texture. It is a little on the hot side. I used the full pound of jalepenos and seeded them all. Next time I will cut the amount in half. I will also wear gloves. The acid from the tomatoes and the jalopenos are killers on your hands!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This one is great and easy! You can adjust for your salsa tastes--I added more cilantro and lime juice in place of the lemon. I also just chopped all my tomatoes on the second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
This is the first time I have ever made salsa and I couldn't be more happier with how it turned out. I used the whole pound of jalapeno peppers, but only the seeds from two of them. My family and friends keep coming back for more! I have also frozen some to give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This is good, my picky daughter even eats it, well, she dips the chip in the juice. Alot of work, but a good way to use up those garden veges! Thanks Kiki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States