Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
HOT HOT HOT! We like hot food so this is good for us, but next time I might cut down the cayenne pepper and hope it's that much better. I didn't add the cumin or cilantro as I think I'm the only person on the planet that doesn't like cilantro, but still got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Excellent! This was my first time making salsa and it turned out perfect. I did make a few alterations though. I only used 3 lbs of peeled and crushed tomatoes. I did not drain them, but combined them with 1 can of Spaghetti sauce. I used 4 cloves of fresh garlic, instead of the powder. I added some fresh parsley in with the cilantro. I don't like things too spicy, so I only added 2 jalapeno peppers and included the seeds for one of the peppers. It was plenty hot for me! Also, I added 2 green bell peppers and 3 red bell peppers. I just chopped them up small and added them in with the onions. It looks exactly like store bought salsa, but tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Absolutely the best!!! I played with the ratio of ingredients a bit to our liking and canned a batch for this winter - yum!!! Thanks for sharing :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Tried salsa for the first time this weekend and used this recipe, LOVED IT!! Cut back on the jalapenos a bit, made one batch hotter than the other and also left out the cayenne as I felt the jalapenos would add enough heat. Also, added some fresh cut garlic and us.ed less garlic powder. Everyone loved it! I'll be making this every year! Already gave a few jars away to family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
boil for 20 min in the hot canning jars (which have been boiled for 20 min). With 1 tbsp of lime juice in each jar for small jars. I have yet to try them, this is just a preliminary note to myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I followed exactly except to use lime juice instead of lemon. Add 1 Tbs sugar (a little secret ingredient I learned from a local Mexican neighbor) and Oh...wow... Fabulous salsa. I tripled the recipe and canned it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HarleyGrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
A pound of jalapenos would make this extremely hot! I doubled the recipe and used 1 chili pepper instead of 2 lbs of jalapenos and it is hot enough for me. I also added a bell pepper and a bit of corn. Very good. I have 32 tomato plants in my garden this year and I think I will be using this recipe a lot. I'd give it 4.5 stars because of the extreme amount of jalapenos and because I like a bit more chunky vegetables in my salsa like corn and bell pepper, which I easily added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sherwood, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Loved this! I took the author's suggestion to roast the peppers in the oven before seeding and chopping and it was delicious. Also added less onion (only 3/4 of 1 yellow onion, no red, no white). Adjusted to 4 banana peppers and 9 jalepenos, as that is what we picked from our garden. PLENTY spicy for us. Lastly we added 2- 6oz. cans of no salt added tomato paste as we like a thicker consistency. Terrific starter recipe and easy to adapt to your family's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and cut down on the spice (I have young kids who love salsa) I ended up using, 1 tsp of Cayenne and 3 jalapenos (for a double batch) turned out to be a flavourful mild recipe - perfect for my kids. The double batch made 11 500ml jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very good. I used regular tomatoes from the garden. I did seed them first. I didn't cook it very long because it started to get juicy. We really liked this salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States