Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
phew, this is what i called spicy, love it! it really burns my mouth!butnext time I cut the jalapeno half the recipe otherwise my guest wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
We loved this. My boyfriend brought it to work and said most thoought it was the best salsa they have ever tried. He doesn't like chunky salsa, so I pretty much pureed it in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dayton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Love this salsa! This is the first time I've ever made salsa and was surprised at how easy it is. Did make some changes to the recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and decreased the jalapenos to one pepper, used one large Anaheim pepper, plus used lime juice instead of lemon. Next time will try lemon as I suspect it might give it a just little more zip. Also added a couple dashes of sugar as suggested. Didn't have cumin, so used some chili powder which turned out to be a really good idea. Also added a few drops of tabasco-type sauce for flavor, fresh garlic, and a splash of juice from a jar of peppercinis. I did not cook anything. Left the peels on the tomatoes, quartered them and put them in my simple little chopper gizmo, a handy Black and Decker thing that I got on Amazon for about 14.00. It's just great for doing small food processor type things, and it made very quick work of chopping the tomatoes, onions, peppers, and garlic. The salsa turned out fantastic, and no cooking required! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Made this with our garden tomatoes last summer. Very good, but too hot for us!! Had to dilute with store-bought salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This salsa was very good. We made it for a school project. We did 2 tbsp of minced garlic to it to add more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is as good as our local Mexican place. The only 2 things I changed (other than scaling down to 24 servings since I don't can) was that I used fresh garlic (Alton Brown said garlic powder cannot develop in the presence of acid?) and I put in some honey because it was bitter (perhaps because I didn't seed the jalapenos?). Absolutely top notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
AWESOME!!!! This was so good that I just made it 2 nights ago and I need to make more! You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Finally, I have found the right salsa recipe for me. This is wonderful! I scaled my recipe to make 18 servings (or about a weeks worth for us). I followed the recipe except doubling the cumin (I love cumin) and adding a dash more garlic than called for in my 18 servings. I only used one jalapeno. This salsa is a little spicy, but exactly what I was looking for! Thank you so much for sharing this fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
i didn't add the white onion, and it wasn't needed. i wound up adding a whole can of diced tomatoes and lime juice instead of lemon. my husband loves this salsa -- i think it's average (he's mexican and i grew up here in texas -- it doesn't make us experts but it does mean we've eaten a lot of salsa). next time i will add the tomatoes to the onion, jalepeno, etc, cold so there is some crispness to the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This salsa turned out very watery for me. I should have squeezed off some of the juices from the tomatoes first, or let it cook down more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States