Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This is the salsa that you will keep making! All my friends and family who have tasted it love this salsa. For chopped tomatoes added to the mix, I like to use chopped cherry tomatoes. I like to sprinkle some sugar in the mix as well. 6 jalapeno peppers are about the right level of spiciness for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is my first try at making canned salsa. It's a really good recipe but you'll need to adjust the heat to your taste. I was able to make 2 batches this year - 1st one too mild, 2nd slightly too hot! I'll get it right with next years tomatos! And for anyone who may be intimidated by the canning process, it is not difficult at all. I run my jars under the hottest water I can (our water heater runs hot), pour the hot salsa in & put the lid on. You'll hear the "pop" of it sealing in within 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Thats some good salsa. Most people don't cook theirs, so it's an extra wow when you slap that stuff on the table. The best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This salsa recipe is a definate keeper! I added less jalapenos than it required and the salsa still kept its tangyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
too hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This is the second year I have canned this recipe from the garden produce. Everyone loves it! No changes made other than to maybe add more seasonings as we go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Great recipe! I added a 1/4 cup of white wine vinegar and the juice of a lime to increase acidity so I could process it into cans. I also added more jalapenos and 1/2 with seeds to increase the heat. We like salsa extra hot. The intention was to make jars to give away for the holidays. I just noticed that my teenage son and husband are sneaking jars for themselves... I can tell that they will be gone by the end of the month. Looks like I'll be making another batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was the first salsa I ever made that was cooked. I usally make the super fresh kind like you get in restraunts but my hubby had been asking for a kind more like the kind you buy in jars. So I made this. I used 2 habanaros, 2 chilis and 4 jalapenos. I only used one onion though. It turned out just like I was hoping for. The consistancy of a store bought jarred salsa with lots of heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This has become my "what am I going to do with all these tomatoes" recipe. Especially because it disappears so fast. I use what I have harvested, but the spices remain the same. i.e. for peppers I use my roasted and frozen anaheim and jalapenos. Yellow onions only because thats what I grow etc etc. Limes because the lime tree if full of them. The Key is the balance of seasonings. Its perfect. A WONDERFUL harvest time recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This salsa has good flavor, but is too hot for me. I added more crushed tomatoes, lemon juice and some sugar to try to cool it down. I will make it again, but with less cayenne and jalapenos. It is very forgiving and you can add and subtract ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States