Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Very good. I used regular tomatoes from the garden. I did seed them first. I didn't cook it very long because it started to get juicy. We really liked this salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Whoa! First of all, I used about 1/4 of the jalapenos (no seeds) and this will be too hot for my family. Second, WAY too much cumin! This tastes more like chili than salsa! OK, time for me to go dump a ton of tomatoes into this thing to salvage it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is my first attempt at homemade salsa and it tastes great. I didn't start with 6 pounds of roma tomatoes. I worked backwards by coring, removing the seeds and draining the water to get to 6 pounds and it yielded close to 1.5 gallons. I used fresh garlic, lime juice as well and fresh minced cayenne peppers. Can't wait to make it again next summer only I will be prepared to can it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Excellent! This was my first time making homemade salsa, and this recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I used fresh garlic rather than powder, and omitted the red onion, however I'm sure it would have been great if added. The salsa is the perfect texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boston Chowda

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
It just tasted bad. I did exactly what it said to do, and still, no one liked it. This is coming from a family who hasn't met a salsa they don't like besides this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I was given 16lbs of tomatoes from friends and family and was wondering what I could possibly do with them all. Used 8lbs to make this and Im so glad. We go through salsa like no other at our house and this is way better then the fresh stuff we buy at the store. I love cilantro and garlic so I used a full bunch of cilantro and fresh garlic instead of powder. Used lime juice for lemon and only had a few jalapenos on hand so it doesnt quite have that strong kick I like, but my 2 year old loves it so I guess thats all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The best salsa recipe I have ever tried! A great way to use an abundant garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Very good salsa. Followed recipe and most likely will not changed a thing. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Very good! I used different tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made about 6 batches of this salsa with a bumper crop of tomatoes two years ago and it has been a hit with everyone I shared it with. I blend my tomatoes slightly in a blender or food processor because we like the consistency better. This is now my "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States