Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. With and without the jalapeno. Both are excellent. I use this mostly as a good way to get my veggies in on a daily basis so therefore no jalapeno. But when I made for a party, yes to jalapeno. I buy discounted tomatoes because they are always very ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My family thought this was too sweet. More like spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe that I used to can all of our garden tomatoes. I'm pretty sure I didn't use the amount of jalepeno it called for, I just eyeballed it and used what I thought would add enough spice but still have my kids eating it. Everyone who has had this (adults and children) has really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
The best salsa of the many i have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
BEST SALSA EVER! I've been making salsa for years but this is the best I've ever had/made. I canned it. Used lime juice instead of lemon. Used chipotle pepper instead of the cayenne. Jalapenos to taste. For a mild batch (for kids) I didn't add jalapenos at all and they loved it! Great smoky flavor with the chipotle. Will be tossing out my old recipes and keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was excellent. I made a half batch and canned it. I used lime juice instead of lemon. I didn't use any cayenne pepper or cumin because I didn't have those on hand, but I did use just a dash of smoked paprika. I used 2 garlic cloves instead of powered garlic. I used only white onion because that's all I had on hand. I used about twice the amount of fresh cilantro it called for and thought it could use a bit more of that even. I didn't put any jalapenos seed or membranes in it so that it wouldn't be too hot. I gave them 25 minutes in a hot water bath to can them. It was just perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Best salsa I have ever had! I used some organic heirloom tomatoes instead of roma tomatoes, and also omitted the red pepper and added fresh cayenne peppers instead. I also followed the recommendation to roast the peppers before adding them, and it was delicious! I canned about 10 jars, and my only regret is that I didn't make more. Will definitely be making next year as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Great Salsa Recipe. I just chunked all mine up like a pico de gallo. And canned all of this. Made 2 batches, and only used 1/2 Jalapeno's and the heat was just right. Now my Jalapenos were home grown so I think they were a bit hotter than what you buy. I used 3/4 of the onion mixture only.. Lots of onions. Used all the same spices and it was really good.. Loved it!!!!! Will make more as soon as I get more tomatoes! Oh each batch make 7 pints for 6 pounds of tomatoes and all the goodies that went into it... TY for sharing your recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Made a whole gallon of this recipe, added fresh garlic and anaheim peppers instead of jalapenos, it was absolutely wonderful. Family couldn't stop eating it. Was gone in only 2 days- there are a lot of us. Best salsa I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe is very good! I blended all the ingredients at the end to make it not as chunky. DEF will be using this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States