Salsa II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe several times. With and without the jalapeno. Both are excellent. I use this mostly as a good way to get my veggies in on a daily basis so therefore no jalapeno. But when I made for a party, yes to jalapeno. I buy discounted tomatoes because they are always very ripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My family thought this was too sweet. More like spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Great recipe that I used to can all of our garden tomatoes. I'm pretty sure I didn't use the amount of jalepeno it called for, I just eyeballed it and used what I thought would add enough spice but still have my kids eating it. Everyone who has had this (adults and children) has really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
The best salsa of the many i have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
BEST SALSA EVER! I've been making salsa for years but this is the best I've ever had/made. I canned it. Used lime juice instead of lemon. Used chipotle pepper instead of the cayenne. Jalapenos to taste. For a mild batch (for kids) I didn't add jalapenos at all and they loved it! Great smoky flavor with the chipotle. Will be tossing out my old recipes and keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This was excellent. I made a half batch and canned it. I used lime juice instead of lemon. I didn't use any cayenne pepper or cumin because I didn't have those on hand, but I did use just a dash of smoked paprika. I used 2 garlic cloves instead of powered garlic. I used only white onion because that's all I had on hand. I used about twice the amount of fresh cilantro it called for and thought it could use a bit more of that even. I didn't put any jalapenos seed or membranes in it so that it wouldn't be too hot. I gave them 25 minutes in a hot water bath to can them. It was just perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Best salsa I have ever had! I used some organic heirloom tomatoes instead of roma tomatoes, and also omitted the red pepper and added fresh cayenne peppers instead. I also followed the recommendation to roast the peppers before adding them, and it was delicious! I canned about 10 jars, and my only regret is that I didn't make more. Will definitely be making next year as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Great Salsa Recipe. I just chunked all mine up like a pico de gallo. And canned all of this. Made 2 batches, and only used 1/2 Jalapeno's and the heat was just right. Now my Jalapenos were home grown so I think they were a bit hotter than what you buy. I used 3/4 of the onion mixture only.. Lots of onions. Used all the same spices and it was really good.. Loved it!!!!! Will make more as soon as I get more tomatoes! Oh each batch make 7 pints for 6 pounds of tomatoes and all the goodies that went into it... TY for sharing your recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Made a whole gallon of this recipe, added fresh garlic and anaheim peppers instead of jalapenos, it was absolutely wonderful. Family couldn't stop eating it. Was gone in only 2 days- there are a lot of us. Best salsa I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This recipe is very good! I blended all the ingredients at the end to make it not as chunky. DEF will be using this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States