Salsa I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was the first salsa recipe I ever tried and I must say it was delicious. I substituted fresh parsley for the cilantro as we just do not like cilantro....I also added a couple of squirts of lime juice and jalopeno rings from a can, maybe 6....came out perfect.....used my mini processor with onions, j.rings, half a can of diced tomato, 3 cloves of garlic....after processing I added the other half can of diced tomato....nicely chunky....and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
A good foundational salsa recipe, but without onions and 1-1.5 jalepenos it's way too bland. Fresh Tomatoes from the farmer's market help a lot too. Canned tomatoes are never good in any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Awesome recipe. Was using raw tomatoes but really wanted a restaurant style salsa. This is it! The stewed canned tomatoes are the secret !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Having made this twice (once as written and once following other reviews) , if you like really mild salsa... as written is great , for my preferences it really needs a red onion finely diced, and either 1 can of rotel, and 1 jalopeno with or without seeds seeds, a touch of sugar or sweetner, and just a bit of lime juice, along with garlic and cilantro with a quick spin thru the processor. They make the Rotel with lime juice and cilantro already in it which i will try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Pretty good...probably won't add so much garlic next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Sanders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Bland, also too much cilantro, added 1/4t cumin,1/4t oregano,T of lemon and lime juice,t salt and cracked black pepper, t of liquid smoke. Like it hot add 3 hot pepers of your choice(extra hot with the seeds) leave together for at least 12 hours for the flavor to meld...Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAnthony

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I just made this after we got an impromtu basket of hot peppers from my girlfriend. I used this recipe and obiviously added peppers. It only took two to give it a lot of kick. I made it about 20 minutes ago. My family has eaten the entire batch with Tostitos. Awesome and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyoung2012

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this as an appetizer for a dinner party. I only had one can of diced tomatoes on hand so I substituted a can of Rotel for the second can. The Rotel gave it a little extra kick My husband tasted it before our guests arrived and liked it so much I was afraid that there would not be any left for them. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This salsa is DELICIOUS! I added onions and 2 fresh tomatoes along with the can of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I tweeked this recipe just bit. I used fresh tomatoes from the garden various types like roma and beef steak tomatoes. I also added sweet bell pepper, small jalapeno black bean and white corn sugar to taste and that makes it good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States