Salsa de Tomatillos Como Las Asadas y Big Star Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridge City, Texas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Apart from using a little more garlic, I make this as written, and it is phenomenal. Awesome as a dip, but also REALLY good poured over grilled chicken and/or salmon. I always make a big batch of it because it never lasts long. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Minnesota_Girl
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This is so easy and so delicious! I did add a little cumin, but otherwise followed exactly. Left the seeds in 2 serranos and it gave it a good kick! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
i have probably eaten my own weight in salsa and chips in my life. that said, this is just amazing and reminds me of going to a taqueria back in houston. very flavorful and delicious, all of my roommates loved it!! definitely going to make this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is the Holy Grail of Salsa Verdes. Be sure to use gloves to cut your peppers. I learned the hard way! Ouch. Recipe definitely worth it though!!! Best I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
My father in law is from Mexico and makes the MOST AMAZING green salsa, having said that, I love this recipe. It has great flavor and uses authentic flavors and techniques. I actually didn't use the serrano chiles (all I had were 4 poblano) so my salsa is not hot, but very flavorful instead. Next time I will try using the serranos. I have a hand blender, and I used that to blend it up. If you use a regular blender make sure you clean it very well if you don't want your smoothies to taste like chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michago

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I am an avid tomato salsa recipe maker, but my husband has been asking me why I never use tomatillos. My response was that I've never used tomatillos ever in my life. Well, this was the lucky recipe I chose, and I'm glad I did. It was a great choice. Excellent flavor, and very easy to do. The serrano peppers were small, and after roasting, I couldn't get the skin off without tearing them apart, so I just threw them in the blender with skins on.... didn't notice one bit!! Will definitally make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I liked it. I made it with 4 serrano peppers but next time I will add more (like the cook recommended) and leave some seeds in to give it more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aksilva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States