Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Roasting the tomatillos results in a much thicker salsa with the added flavor from roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is a great fresh salsa. Those who want to mellow the pepper taste could blanch the peppers with the tomatillos. I would recommend letting it sit for several hours at room temperature before eating. Also, it freezes quite well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I tried this poured over chicken with melted monteray jack and yellow rice on the side and it was yummy. This salsa has some kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This makes wonderful salsa. I had never cooked with tomatillos before, but wanted a fresh green salsa to go with enchiladas I was making (Chicken Enchiladas II from this site). I used 2 jalapeños, seeded and ribs removed as we don’t like food very hot. I used less water, just enough to cover the tomatillos in the pan, and 2 garlic cloves. I have never tasted better green salsa. And, a tip I learned for selecting tomatillos, choose the smaller ones as they can get bitter if they get too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
This was a good start but needs more jalapenos. Mine did not even have a little heat using just the two peppers. I will use 4 seeded fresh ones next time. I layered grilled chicken, flour tortillas, monterrey jack cheese and this sauce and baked covered for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I've always included fresh Mexican oregano and cumin when I make tomatillo salsa and was interested in the comparison without. While I did like this, I found it just a little dull for my tastes, so now I know I do prefer tomatillo salsa enhanced with the additions of cumin and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This was good but not great, next time I will serve with tortilla chips and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This recipe is extremely easy to prepare. Plus, it takes great too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I've made this recipe exactly as written a dozen times...Consistently Fantastic. This year I grew my own tomatillos and jalapenos...Nummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaGrillGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Oh yum! I added 1/4 C. more cilantro and 1/4 fresh parsley. I also added one large red bell pepper (chopped) to tone down some of the fieriness of the salsa for my non-spice lovers. It makes a combo of a little sweet with a spicy bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chixwizard78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States