Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
So absolutely sad that I didn't have this wonderful recipe for the past 30 years. Now I am old with hardly anyone to appreciate it but myself. LOL. I used fresh ingredients except for the cilantro leaves (ground some coriander seed with the old trusty mortar and pestle), and used between 1/4 and 1/2 tsp. I shook in a touch of garlic powder since I had only used three garlic cloves and that wasn't quite enough. I may add a little lime juice after it refrigerates for a few hours. BEST green salsa I've ever had; will definitely make it a staple. Thanks much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Didn't work for our family, we apparently aren't cilantro lovers. It was way too overpowering. I will continue searching for green hot sauce recipes. If I make it again, I will use dried cilantro, very little of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Thanks, Sandy, this is a great basic recipe. My husband and teenage kids love it. It is excellent with enchiladas, and I can't wait to try it with fish as another reviewer mentioned. It would also be great with pork loin or chops. I even want to try it on burgers. We love enchiladas verdes made with this salsa and it also is great with tortilla chips as a dip. I had bushels of tomatillos from my garden, and I sure used up a lot of them making this salsa for my family to eat with their chips. I do tweak it a little now, I add only one jalapeno (my kids don't want it too spicy) and I also add 1/4 teaspoon of ground coriander (cilantro seeds) and the juice of one lime. Once when I didn't have enough cilantro I added fresh parsley from the garden, which worked out very well, but I still like all cilantro better. I use the smallest onion I have, because the raw onion flavor can overpower it sometimes. Instead of yellow onion, next time I will use a sweet vidalia onion and see if that makes a difference. Also the jalapenos should be green. I used ripe red jalapenos from the garden once, and not only are they hotter but they don't have that fresh green 'grassy' flavor, which adds a lot to the salsa. Looking forward to trying it with nachos, too! Muy bueno y delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
SO GOOD! I made this for a teacher gathering and everyone LOVED it. I will definately make this more often for snacking purposes. Very easy and enjoyable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This salsa is delicious! I had never used tomatillos before, but they will be a regular on my shopping list. We absolutely love the salsa with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This recipe lacks something. It just doesn't have that "salsa" flavor. I ended up adding some canned regular salsa to it, just to give it some flavor. I wouldn't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Thank you, Sandy! Added alot more garlic and jalapenos and used it to make enchiladas. My family raved over dinner. The only downfall was that I didn't make enough to eat the next day with chips! Thanks again for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was my first time cooking with tomatillos and this recipe turned out very well. I made a batch and baked a whole tilapia in it. Very good taste and was excellent with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Excellent, and extremely easy. To those saying it's too hot, make sure to clean the seeds out of the jalapeno before using it--if you do that, they should have very little heat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This salsa was easy to make and delicious! However, the recipe calls for 2 jalapeno peppers. I used ONE and it was TOO HOT! I am pretty weak when it comes to hot food, but even my husband who likes hot food said it was a little too hot for him. In the future, I will use half a jalapeno or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States