Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This salsa is delicious! I had never used tomatillos before, but they will be a regular on my shopping list. We absolutely love the salsa with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This recipe lacks something. It just doesn't have that "salsa" flavor. I ended up adding some canned regular salsa to it, just to give it some flavor. I wouldn't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Thank you, Sandy! Added alot more garlic and jalapenos and used it to make enchiladas. My family raved over dinner. The only downfall was that I didn't make enough to eat the next day with chips! Thanks again for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was my first time cooking with tomatillos and this recipe turned out very well. I made a batch and baked a whole tilapia in it. Very good taste and was excellent with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Excellent, and extremely easy. To those saying it's too hot, make sure to clean the seeds out of the jalapeno before using it--if you do that, they should have very little heat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This salsa was easy to make and delicious! However, the recipe calls for 2 jalapeno peppers. I used ONE and it was TOO HOT! I am pretty weak when it comes to hot food, but even my husband who likes hot food said it was a little too hot for him. In the future, I will use half a jalapeno or none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I used between 10-12 tomatillos when I made this, it was the amount we got from the farmer. I toned it down a bit by only using one jalapeno and it still had a kick to it, IMO. We eat it with tortilla chips as a snack. It's a wonderful and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
The best tomatillo salsa I've ever had. We got fresh ingredients from our local farmers market and I believe that makes all the difference. I did add the juice of one small lime for a little bit of kick. Also added just a few drops of hot sauce. This sauce makes great chilaquiles as well as enchiladas. A must try (again and again)! Thanks for sharing, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was incredibly easy to make, and I can see how versatile this sauce can be on a variety of items. I did not have the jalepeno peppers so I made it without, and still loved it. I am thinking it is on the sweeter side side versus spicier. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MacMarie
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Wonderful, We used it on grilled chicken, fried eggs, and in the nachos you mentioned. This is a basic recipe, and should be that way! Adding anything else will degrade the salsa. Thank you for the additional recipe using Salsa de Tomatillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MacMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States