Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
The best tomatillo salsa I've ever had. We got fresh ingredients from our local farmers market and I believe that makes all the difference. I did add the juice of one small lime for a little bit of kick. Also added just a few drops of hot sauce. This sauce makes great chilaquiles as well as enchiladas. A must try (again and again)! Thanks for sharing, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This was incredibly easy to make, and I can see how versatile this sauce can be on a variety of items. I did not have the jalepeno peppers so I made it without, and still loved it. I am thinking it is on the sweeter side side versus spicier. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MacMarie
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Wonderful, We used it on grilled chicken, fried eggs, and in the nachos you mentioned. This is a basic recipe, and should be that way! Adding anything else will degrade the salsa. Thank you for the additional recipe using Salsa de Tomatillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MacMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I used a small onion, and it still tasted a little too oniony for me. I also used 3 jalapenos to make it a little more picante. Otherwise, this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Awesome, authentic salsa!! I added 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/8 tsp. pepper - would do those same measurements again. Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Out of this world ! I made it to go with "Amy's cilantro cream sauce" recipe from this site, since you cant find green salsa here too often. This was just so so so GOOD! I added more cilanro then called for because I wanted to use it up, and it was FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
I loved this. I hand cut/minced the onions. Next time I will use a food processor, I think they need to be a little more refined. I always wondered what tomatillos were used for. Thanks for the great recipe and instructions!! P.S. I had left over roast. I cut it up and cooked it with the salsa and made a great burrito. Yum! Yum! Next time, I will try making this 1st, with more jalepenos and pouring over a roast in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Excellent! Followed the recipe as written. I had various size tomatillos, not knowing what a ripe one looks like. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
This was an extremely easy recipe to make. And pretty darn tasty too!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Absolutely delicious!! After preparing, simmer with pork or beef chunks and serve in warm tortillas and toppings of your choice...fabulous, authentic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States