Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
sefwee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was surprisingly delicious! (I say "surprisingly" because I had never used tomatillos in cooking before.) I had no jalapeños on hand, so I substituted with crushed red pepper and some chili powder. I also added a little sugar to balance out the tartness of the tomatillos. Overall, I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRue89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delphos, Ohio, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good and authentic tasting. Freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This recipe was easy and quick and very good. I loved the distinct flavor of the tomatillos. The fresh ingredients are so good, I'll never go back to store bought salsas....Yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I used roasted jalapeno peppers, which I find tones down the heat. I had leftover tomatillos from my CSA delivery in the summer, so I froze some and didn't need to boil them since they were soft after they thawed. This is great for dipping and I also used it in Andy's Spicy Green Chile Pork on this site as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Oh yum! I added 1/4 C. more cilantro and 1/4 fresh parsley. I also added one large red bell pepper (chopped) to tone down some of the fieriness of the salsa for my non-spice lovers. It makes a combo of a little sweet with a spicy bite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chixwizard78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Since this was my first time to grow them, I had no idea what to do with my beautiful tomatillo's until I tried this recipe! It is very easy and tastes wonderful, just the heat that I love, with the lemony flavor of the little green fruit remaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andersrf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Pretty good for my first time making green salsa! If you are short on time like I was and want to cool it off quickly, try putting the finished salsa in the freezer for about a half hour. I used the salsa as a topping for tacos but am planning to use the leftovers to make enchiladas. I am curious to compare to a recipe where the ingredients are roasted so I will probably try that next and see which one stays in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I've always included fresh Mexican oregano and cumin when I make tomatillo salsa and was interested in the comparison without. While I did like this, I found it just a little dull for my tastes, so now I know I do prefer tomatillo salsa enhanced with the additions of cumin and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
OK.....but mine had a very bitter aftertaste. I added a teaspoon of sugar the next day and that helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States