Salsa De Tomatillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Absolutely hands down my favorite salsa. I did add a tsp of lime juice, but other than that followed the recipe to a T. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Great easy salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACOBRAD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Animas, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I made this pretty much as the recipe instructed. I tweaked it a little adding more jalapenos and garlic for some added flavor and heat. Delicious and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Schmidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Wow!! This was awesome in flavor, texture and sight. I added a medium sized white onion instead of small and added a serrano chili to one jalapeno chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirla Vergara
Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
used over chicken, it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Awesome sauce! I decided to make chilaquiles with this recipe. I made some changes though. SAUCE: I used 3 large serrano peppers for spice and 7 dried chiles de arbol (no stems) instead of the jalapenos. I boiled the tomatillos, chiles and garlic cloves until the tomatillos changed color. I dont like to leave them too long because it gives the sauce a bitter taste. So I dont let them burst. After boiling everything for a few minutes, I put the following into the food processor: Tomatillos, chiles, garlic cloves, a handful of cilantro leaves (no stems), 1/4 onion and a tsp of knorr bouillon (moms secret ingredient). CHILAQUILES: After the sauce is done I put a tbsp of oil in a pan and throw the sauce in. After the sauce begins to simmer a bit I turn the heat down and add tortilla chips. Restaurant style chips w/salt are great for this recipe. I dont mix anything at that point. I just make sure the sauce covers the chips untill the chips begin to soften. The trick is to not the the chips get too mushy but not too hard. After that simmers a little you can add rotisserie chicken on top and serve with cheese and sour cream. I personally like a fried egg on top. You can also do this with any leftover sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My wife loves "Salsa Verde" as we call in in the Southwest, so, I made this recently in part because I thought she'd like it, and I was curious about tomatillos. My wife LOVED it, and said it was the best she ever had! For me personally, I would add some more peppers to it, maybe more jalapenos and a serrano or two. Even though mild for my tastes, I did enjoy it and would recommend to others. This really is easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
sefwee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was surprisingly delicious! (I say "surprisingly" because I had never used tomatillos in cooking before.) I had no jalapeños on hand, so I substituted with crushed red pepper and some chili powder. I also added a little sugar to balance out the tartness of the tomatillos. Overall, I really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaRue89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delphos, Ohio, USA
Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good and authentic tasting. Freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maine, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States