Salsa Cube Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was great! I do have a couple of suggestions. I put S/P & Cumin on the steaks and seared the meat for about 1-1/2 minutes on both sides over a high heat in a pan with a little oil. I put them in my crock pot and spread some sliced onions, zucchini, red pepper and green peppers over the meat. Here is the clincher - I put a 16 oz jar of Peach Pineapple Salsa all over that. NO Water -you get enough liquid from the salsa. I cooked them on High for 2-1/2 hours. Oh my heavens does it taste good. It really tasted that good. Be bold and try a different type of salsa, if you like eating it on chips, you should like it in this recipe. I made rice to go with it - awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOTTYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Absolutely delish. I will make again and again. I did cook for one hour which made is soooo tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I wanted to do something different with cube steaks than the usual gravy or swiss steak and this fit the bill. Easy with few ingredients. I eliminated the peppers because they don't agree with members of the family. I added a can of mushrooms and also browned the meat first before putting it in the baking dish. If your store sells the Black Angus cube steaks, I recommend getting those as they are usually more tender. I also didn't add any additional liquid. I topped it with some monterrey jack cheese in the last five minutes. I served this with black beans and rice. Very easy and delicious, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Very quick, easy & tasty! I added shredded cheddar cheese on top after baking...yummy! My husband & 2 yr old loved it. My husband doesn't like rice so I served with baked fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Myerstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
VERY GOOD! Didn't add any water...the salsa provided plenty of liquid. Hubby gave it the thumbs up, which means it's a keeper/add-it-to-the-recipe-book-good. Even my picky 5 year old thanked me for "this yummy food". Just an additional note. The second time I made this dish, I misestimated the amount of cubed steak I had. I didn't have enough for the whole family! So I added boneless, skinless chicken breast to the pan and covered it as instructed. Delicious! So this recipe works with chicken also! Recommend it highly. Medium salsa seemed light on this - the kids didn't mention any spice. MaryA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A. Milan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was a fantastic quick dinner. The only thing I did differently was I sprinkled Roasted garlic and Red Bell Pepper seasoning over the peppers and onions, then topped with pineapple salsa. Next time I will top with some cheddar or jack cheese the last 10 minutes or so. A very well received dinner. Thanks Tracie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I tried this recipe last night for my family. It was quick and very easy. It tasted real good. So I have chose to keep this recipe. I served with Mashed Potatos instead of Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haskell, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This is GREAT!!!! Very easy to throw together!!! I also added green chiles to the onion and green peppers... As some of the others did , I added some cheese.... I can't see making this dish without the cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
When I first ready this recipe I didn't understand how this simple combination of ingredients could have so many stars....but I had all the ingredients on hand and decided to give it a shot. We were all pleasantly surprised at how GOOD they were. I am definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
i love making these during the winter months! they warm the soul! now a menu staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States