Salsa Cube Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was great! I do have a couple of suggestions. I put S/P & Cumin on the steaks and seared the meat for about 1-1/2 minutes on both sides over a high heat in a pan with a little oil. I put them in my crock pot and spread some sliced onions, zucchini, red pepper and green peppers over the meat. Here is the clincher - I put a 16 oz jar of Peach Pineapple Salsa all over that. NO Water -you get enough liquid from the salsa. I cooked them on High for 2-1/2 hours. Oh my heavens does it taste good. It really tasted that good. Be bold and try a different type of salsa, if you like eating it on chips, you should like it in this recipe. I made rice to go with it - awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOTTYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
Absolutely delish. I will make again and again. I did cook for one hour which made is soooo tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I wanted to do something different with cube steaks than the usual gravy or swiss steak and this fit the bill. Easy with few ingredients. I eliminated the peppers because they don't agree with members of the family. I added a can of mushrooms and also browned the meat first before putting it in the baking dish. If your store sells the Black Angus cube steaks, I recommend getting those as they are usually more tender. I also didn't add any additional liquid. I topped it with some monterrey jack cheese in the last five minutes. I served this with black beans and rice. Very easy and delicious, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
Very quick, easy & tasty! I added shredded cheddar cheese on top after baking...yummy! My husband & 2 yr old loved it. My husband doesn't like rice so I served with baked fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Myerstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
VERY GOOD! Didn't add any water...the salsa provided plenty of liquid. Hubby gave it the thumbs up, which means it's a keeper/add-it-to-the-recipe-book-good. Even my picky 5 year old thanked me for "this yummy food". Just an additional note. The second time I made this dish, I misestimated the amount of cubed steak I had. I didn't have enough for the whole family! So I added boneless, skinless chicken breast to the pan and covered it as instructed. Delicious! So this recipe works with chicken also! Recommend it highly. Medium salsa seemed light on this - the kids didn't mention any spice. MaryA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A. Milan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was a fantastic quick dinner. The only thing I did differently was I sprinkled Roasted garlic and Red Bell Pepper seasoning over the peppers and onions, then topped with pineapple salsa. Next time I will top with some cheddar or jack cheese the last 10 minutes or so. A very well received dinner. Thanks Tracie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This is GREAT!!!! Very easy to throw together!!! I also added green chiles to the onion and green peppers... As some of the others did , I added some cheese.... I can't see making this dish without the cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
When I first ready this recipe I didn't understand how this simple combination of ingredients could have so many stars....but I had all the ingredients on hand and decided to give it a shot. We were all pleasantly surprised at how GOOD they were. I am definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I tried this recipe last night for my family. It was quick and very easy. It tasted real good. So I have chose to keep this recipe. I served with Mashed Potatos instead of Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haskell, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
i love making these during the winter months! they warm the soul! now a menu staple in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States