Salsa Cube Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Although there is a lot of sauce, you could serve this in a taco, which we did, and ate them as a sort of fajita. Note: if you're trying this, do not use soft tacos, as they get soggy and easily fall apart. Left out the green pepper because of my allergy. Overall not too bad, will probably just try over Spanish rice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This recipe was quick and easy to make! Tasted as good as the salsa, which I made last summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I'm not sure why this receip got such great reviews. I followed the recipe and the meat was tough. I might attempt again but this time I'll cook at a lower temp for a longer period of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grove City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was an easy meal. Everyone even my 5 year old liked it. I did change a few things though. First I marinated the steaks in garlic and olive oil then when I cooked the steak I browned them on each side before putting them in the oven. I used mild salsa since we were feeding the kids and they were not spicy at all. This will be made at my house again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
We liked this one and I will make it again. However, I didn't like the cummin, so will go with just the salsa next time. Curry might be an alternative if more spicy taste is needed. It's a good, quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was great! I do have a couple of suggestions. I put S/P & Cumin on the steaks and seared the meat for about 1-1/2 minutes on both sides over a high heat in a pan with a little oil. I put them in my crock pot and spread some sliced onions, zucchini, red pepper and green peppers over the meat. Here is the clincher - I put a 16 oz jar of Peach Pineapple Salsa all over that. NO Water -you get enough liquid from the salsa. I cooked them on High for 2-1/2 hours. Oh my heavens does it taste good. It really tasted that good. Be bold and try a different type of salsa, if you like eating it on chips, you should like it in this recipe. I made rice to go with it - awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCOTTYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Very tasty, a great new way to use cube steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was very tasty.I used mild salsa. It definately has a zing though. We had it over rice. It was a hit with adults, it had a bit too much spice for the kids. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I wanted to do something different with cube steaks than the usual gravy or swiss steak and this fit the bill. Easy with few ingredients. I eliminated the peppers because they don't agree with members of the family. I added a can of mushrooms and also browned the meat first before putting it in the baking dish. If your store sells the Black Angus cube steaks, I recommend getting those as they are usually more tender. I also didn't add any additional liquid. I topped it with some monterrey jack cheese in the last five minutes. I served this with black beans and rice. Very easy and delicious, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I tried this recipe last night for my family. It was quick and very easy. It tasted real good. So I have chose to keep this recipe. I served with Mashed Potatos instead of Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haskell, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grilled Tuna Steaks with Grape and Caper Salsa

See how to make grilled tuna with a fresh-tasting, sweet-and-tangy salsa.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States