Salsa Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This recipe is a winner. i have served this to over twenty differnt friends in the past two months and everyone said it was amazing. i did take advise from other reviews and pureed two cups of the soup after it had simmered before the corn and salsa. i also added more corn and tomatos to feed more people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and it was pretty good. Next time I might add jalepenos or a spicier salsa for extra zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This soup is wonderful. The only thing I might try next time is to puree most or all of the soup before putting in the corn. Wonderful taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Very yummy. Per other reviews I omitted a little of the milk to make it less liquidy. It had great flavor and no other changes were needed. I also added garlic. Yummy. Thank you. very easy to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This recipe was a perfect candidate for my crock pot once I sauteed the peppers and onions. I served the chowder in fresh-out-of-the-oven sourdough boules, and it was a meal fit for a king!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
This is a fairly easy recipe to put together. I enjoyed the the kick from the tomatoes and chiles, not a favorite of the kids, a good soup for adult taste buds. Will make again for a family dinner with pepper cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
After reading over the ingredient list, and knowing we would like this recipe, I made a double batch. We tend to like spicy foods, so along with the green pepper I added a jalapeño and poblano pepper. I had homemade chicken stock that I used in placed of the vegetable stock. Homemade salsa added a nice kick to the chowder. My soup had a nice consistency, but for those wanting a thicker chowder, I would increase the flour to 5 TB for a single batch of soup and keep the milk portions as listed. It does take a while for the cream cheese to melt down. Don't rush things by increasing the the heat. It will eventually melt and give the chowder a very nice creamy texture. This recipe is definitely going in our soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Thought it was pretty good. I added extra vegetables and added cooked cubed potatoes as I like my soups hearty. Thanks for the recipe, it is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I also thought that the consistency was a little thin. The flavor, however, is fantastic, and my picky husband enjoyed it for the most part....I just have to figure out how to make the tomato chunks smaller. We think it would be really good with fajita chicken added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I could have eaten it all myself! I used chicken broth and hot salsa since I had it in my pantry. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISPLAYER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States