Salsa Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Amazing soup. All love it!!!! While fantastic as is, I always use 2 leeks and substituted the salsa (I did not have) and used stewed tomatoes instead. Still amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
It's ok. Decent soup but I couldn't eat to much of it. My husband and daughter refused to eat it however my parents loved it. It's too bad because I really thought I would enjoy it more than I did. I guess I will stick to regular corn chowders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
After reading over the ingredient list, and knowing we would like this recipe, I made a double batch. We tend to like spicy foods, so along with the green pepper I added a jalapeño and poblano pepper. I had homemade chicken stock that I used in placed of the vegetable stock. Homemade salsa added a nice kick to the chowder. My soup had a nice consistency, but for those wanting a thicker chowder, I would increase the flour to 5 TB for a single batch of soup and keep the milk portions as listed. It does take a while for the cream cheese to melt down. Don't rush things by increasing the the heat. It will eventually melt and give the chowder a very nice creamy texture. This recipe is definitely going in our soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This soup is awesome!!! Granted, I did make several changes and additions after reading the reviews. I doubled the recipe, added about three to four small yukon gold potatoes (diced and boiled). I pureed about a cup of the potato/pepper/celery mixture to thicken it up a bit. I also added a can of drained and rinsed black beans and extra salsa (hot) to taste to give it more kick. It would probably be great if you wanted to add a meat (like shredded chicken or sausage) but I like to feed my family at least one vegetarian meal a week, and this is very tasty without the meat. Will definitely be adding this to my fall/winter soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Very yummy. Per other reviews I omitted a little of the milk to make it less liquidy. It had great flavor and no other changes were needed. I also added garlic. Yummy. Thank you. very easy to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Thanks! I made this just as written. It was very easy to make and had lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this was delicious, but i dont know if i did something wrong or what but my chowder was a little on the runny side but otherwise was good, i just need to make a couple of tweeks of my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lapwai, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Thought it was pretty good. I added extra vegetables and added cooked cubed potatoes as I like my soups hearty. Thanks for the recipe, it is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I also thought that the consistency was a little thin. The flavor, however, is fantastic, and my picky husband enjoyed it for the most part....I just have to figure out how to make the tomato chunks smaller. We think it would be really good with fajita chicken added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I could have eaten it all myself! I used chicken broth and hot salsa since I had it in my pantry. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNISPLAYER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Heather's Cilantro, Black Bean, and Corn Salsa

A lively corn, avocado, and bean relish great with chips or as a side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States