Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer deNeui

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Family liked it. Served to eat as is or as hard/soft taco. Used leftover rice and canned chicken. Added corn,diced tomatoes and black beans as others suggested. Added some cumin and taco seasoning. Did not add cheese. Mixed all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I used chicken tenderloins and cooked rice in rice cooker with less water it made the rice less sticky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I think this one is a little over rated it isn't difficult but the flavor is missing the only thing you really taste is cheese don't get me wrong I like cheese but there needs to be more than that flavour wise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This is delish with obvious modifications! Please never boil chicken. It should be a sin..... but I pan seared the chicken with cumin, garlic powder, and pepper (enough salt in other stuff!!!!) Once cooked I cut it up and then threw in some onions and green peppers until they were tender. I used a light cream soup, brown rice (cooked in chicken stock), and only one cheese since it's all I had. I also sprinkled some cilantro on each layer. I also recommend getting a good deli salsa or pico di gallo. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Redman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark Poe
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Easy and great !! Definitely will cook it again. we have 5 girls and ALL of them liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Poe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
The only thing I did differently was to use Casa Mamita did tomatoes and green chiles (canned) because I didn't have salsa on hand. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMAZIONSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
OMG! I followed the recipe as written and boy oh boy. What a hit! Everybody loved it to the point where we all had seconds. Even better was the fact that we also had some the next day as left overs and let me tell you it was even more delicious!!! We're looking forward to having it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I'm about to be that person who gives a less than glowing review for a recipe she did not follow exactly. Apologies in advance; it wasn't bad, but it was very bland. I halved the recipe, omitted the cream of mushroom (half recipe only needed a half can of each, so I used a whole can of cream of chicken) used shredded cooked chicken I already had, mixed the soup, salsa & onions with the cooked rice before layering, subbed pepper jack for the monterey jack, and only baked for 20 minutes (everything was already cooked and it was plenty hot by then). Next time, would definitely add chili powder and cumin, and maybe a can of diced green chiles and some olives. I also thought there was too much cheese (and I LOVE cheese). I think I'd cut the cheese in half and only use it on top. Husband and I ate it dip-style with tortilla chips, which he liked. I usually have all of these ingredients on hand, so with a little doctoring, I can see us trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was a pretty easy recipe to make, but I made it as-written and agree with those who said that it was kind of bland. The boiled chicken and white rice fill out the baking dish but don't do much to enhance the final flavor. I think the concept is fine and I might try making the dish again with some modifications. Instead of boiling the chicken, I would suggest brushing it with oil and southwestern spices and roasting it in the oven. It's nearly as fast and easy as boiling and will yield a much nicer flavor and texture. I would also do what some others have suggested and use a Spanish or Mexican rice instead of plain white rice. (I also found that I had more rice than I needed with this recipe and had to leave some out so that I didn't overfill my baking dish.) I would also sauté the chopped onion, along with a clove of minced garlic. And while I'm a big fan of cheese, I'd probably cut that back a bit too, maybe 3 cups total instead of 4, because it just seemed like a bit too much at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 984) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States