Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
A great way to use up left-over rottiserie chicken. My finicky nine year old loved it. I snuck in a whole bunch of fresh baby spinach (folded it into the soup mixture) and he still loved it! This is easy to make with on-hand ingredients- instead of cheddar I used up the mozarella, havarti and american cheese that had been lingering in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
My husband and I really like this. He doesn't like salsa so I just use regular taco sauce and it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
I love this recipe! I recently made this for my sister, a vegetarian, and her children. I just added two cream of mushroom soups and served the chicken on the side. Her family loved it. Tastes great in flour tortillas or with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
This was quite a big hit in my family. I used hot, southwest style salsa, and I'm glad I did. Without it, I'm afraid it may have been too bland. (For the record, I never use hot salsa because I'm a wimp, but could not even tell it was hot in this dish.) I diced the chicken and then cooked in oil in frying pan before adding to the casserole. The only thing I will do differently next time is to season the chicken first; it could have used some fuego spice mix or, at the very least, some salt and pepper. When I got a bite of it in the casserole, it didn't taste like much. Overall, this was really yummy. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This was a big hit in my house! My only recommendation is to use HOT salsa. It was delicious!! I will make it over and over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Excellent recipe -- quick, easy, tasty. I used the hot (instead of mild style) salsa, which made it nice and spicy. Also, I used Kraft's cheddar-jack pre-shredded cheese, which made it even quicker and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I am making this recipe for the second time tonight - and my whole family loves it. It has a mild flavor and is great served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This was wonderful, but that is with the following changes...rice cooked in chicken broth, omit the cream of mushroom soupand chopped onion. After the first layer of chicken give the whole thing a generous shake of southwest seasoning. Very quick and very easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyBennett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was really good. I made some changes though. I cut the recipe in half using only cream of mushroom. I used only enough water to cover the chicken. Then I generously covered the chicken with Southwestern Seasoning. I used medium salsa and 1/2 sharp cheddar, 1/2 pepper jack cheese. It came out really yummy. Next time I think I will do the same thing, but cook the chicken with taco seasoning. **Well after my dh polished off the leftovers without me, I think next time I will make the full recipe. Thanks again.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I made this and found out how quick and easy it really was. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, as I only had 3 breasts and 1 can of soup. I added peppers, mushrooms, black olives and more salsa than asked for. I also just used the cheese packaged as mexican mix. I cooked my chicken on my George Foreman grill. It was so good that everyone had 2 helpings and there was very little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harmony, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States