Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I'm about to be that person who gives a less than glowing review for a recipe she did not follow exactly. Apologies in advance; it wasn't bad, but it was very bland. I halved the recipe, omitted the cream of mushroom (half recipe only needed a half can of each, so I used a whole can of cream of chicken) used shredded cooked chicken I already had, mixed the soup, salsa & onions with the cooked rice before layering, subbed pepper jack for the monterey jack, and only baked for 20 minutes (everything was already cooked and it was plenty hot by then). Next time, would definitely add chili powder and cumin, and maybe a can of diced green chiles and some olives. I also thought there was too much cheese (and I LOVE cheese). I think I'd cut the cheese in half and only use it on top. Husband and I ate it dip-style with tortilla chips, which he liked. I usually have all of these ingredients on hand, so with a little doctoring, I can see us trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This was a pretty easy recipe to make, but I made it as-written and agree with those who said that it was kind of bland. The boiled chicken and white rice fill out the baking dish but don't do much to enhance the final flavor. I think the concept is fine and I might try making the dish again with some modifications. Instead of boiling the chicken, I would suggest brushing it with oil and southwestern spices and roasting it in the oven. It's nearly as fast and easy as boiling and will yield a much nicer flavor and texture. I would also do what some others have suggested and use a Spanish or Mexican rice instead of plain white rice. (I also found that I had more rice than I needed with this recipe and had to leave some out so that I didn't overfill my baking dish.) I would also sauté the chopped onion, along with a clove of minced garlic. And while I'm a big fan of cheese, I'd probably cut that back a bit too, maybe 3 cups total instead of 4, because it just seemed like a bit too much at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Love! I made as is except for using healthy request soups. All my picky ones ate this, had seconds and even told me how good it was. I used Jack's med salsa. I would recommend putting the chicken in the food processor after cutting to make the chicken smaller and more shredded - like just a few pulses. Will also attempt to do prep earlier in the day (like chopping the onion, making the chicken & rice, shredding the cheese) then assemble the casserole when I am ready for dinner. It was a large dish - too much for 4 people so plan for leftovers or feed to more people or maybe even splitting it into 2 pans instead of layering it and share the other pan. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
A great go-to on those nights where you need something easy to put together. I think next time I would use pinto or black beans to give it a bit more substance. Also I would recommend pan frying the chicken/onions in some spices/hot sauce for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
loved it shauna b.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
i cooked the chicken with onion and garlic and taco seasoning. Used 1/2 the brown rice and 1 can drained black beans. 1 can cream of chicken soup and salsa. Everything mixed together and baked. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Easy to make, inexpensive, super delicious and plentiful amount to feed many or make many meals out of!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Baril

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Great fast dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I also cheated and used our left over Bojangles chicken breasts (skin off) from last night and hot salsa. I cooked the onions and mixed everything together in a large bowl and topped it off with half the amount of cheese suggested. I made it before hand and cooked it with aluminum foil (as suggested) for 30 minutes, then 10 more without. It was very flavorful. Defiantly plan on making it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
This is so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 966) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States