Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
If you leave out the packaged taco seasoning packet, and just bump up your other seasonings, & with about a 1/2 teaspoon of cornstarch for thickening, you will avoid the saltiness (plus the additives & preservatives) of the pre packaged and it is great. Add onion or whatever other spices you like in your tacos or burritos. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
The best way to shred this is to put the chicken in the crockpot. I used 3 frozen chicken breasts. Mixed all of the ingredients(decreased the taco seasoning and cumin per the reviews) and poured it over the chicken. I I cooked it for about 3 1/2 hours. This is the mexican version of the Zesty Slow Cooer Chicken Barbeque. You can make changes anyway and I don't think you could screw it up. Simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I make this in the crockpot, only make sure to use low sodium taco seasoning mix. I think McCormick makes it. This is one of my favorite easy recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I put my frozen chicken in the crock pot and covered it with plenty of enchilada sauce(out of tomato sauce) and then the salsa and other seasonings. I use my own taco seasonings I make (taco seasoning I) which works wonderfully because you control the amount of salt. Other than the enchilada sauce, I followed the recipe. Cooked the frozen chicken on hi for 4 hours, then it turned to warm until I got home. I shredded the chicken, wrapped it in tortillas, sprinkled with cheese and then poured the left over sauce from the crock pot over the enchiladas...nothing was wasted. Good...Quick...Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Excellent! I used the 'Taco Seasoning I' recipe (on this site) instead of the store packet, and omitted the cumin and chili (it's already in the seasoning). Mixed this with the tomatoe sauce and salsa and poured it onto the chicken in a slow cooker. After shredding the meat, I added a can of refried beans and heated that through in the slow cooker. Put mixture in large burrito style shells, added tomatoe, some more salsa, and cheddar cheese. Wrapped 5 of these and placed in 9 x 13 baking pan, topped with enchilada sauce, green onions, monterey jack and cheddar cheese. Baked at 375F for about 15 minutes, and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this today in my Lil' Dipper Crockpot. I used homemade salsa, homemade taco seasoning and california ground chili powder. Even cooked in the crockpot it turned out juicy and flavorful--perfect taco meat. I made taco salad bowls using my Perfect Tortilla taco bowl pans and making little bowls of toppings. The family thought this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
Too salty with the multitude of seasonings. I'd suggest the chili powder and cumin and leave out the taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I just have to say that this recipe had the most amazing flavor. I couldn't stop eating it before the rest of the food was done! I didn't use it as a burrito filling though. I came up with a great idea of using it as a filler for Won-Tons. I put about 2 teaspoons of the filling inside, rolled them up, and fried them. They were so good! My boyfriend dipped them in sour cream and salsa and he loved them also. Thank you so much! I will definitely make this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was a HUGE hit with my husband! I ommitted the hot sauce and used only 3/4 of the taco seasoning. Still very flavorful! Added white rice flavored with chicken bouillon, fat free refried beans, low fat sour cream, and shredded cheddar to make the most delicious burritos ever! This will definitely be entered into heavy rotation at our house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I've made this for my husband and me several times. It is a huge hit each and every time! After I cook the chicken, I add it to a skillet along with cooked rice, black beans, tomatoes, and fresh cilantro -- just to allow it to heat through -- and then fill large flour tortillas with the mixture. It's absolutely wonderful! I know that the leftovers won't sit for long. Thanks so much for the recipe, Juli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 544) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States