Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I've used this recipe several times since I printed it off a few months ago. My husband and I are big fans of spicy & Mexican foods, and this recipe suits our tastes. I have left out the cumin, which doesn't seem to matter- it's still great! Leftovers work well poured over nacho chips, topped with cheddar cheese, and heated until the cheese melts. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
My roommate and I liked this very much. I made it and added half a cup of water after I pulled apart the ckicken breasts, then served in in 6 (not 4) tortillas with cheese, sour cream, and green onions in the tortillas, and hot salsa, cheddar cheese and green onions on top. Delicious, and will kick a cold out of anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This was a hit at our house! It was the perfect amount of spiciness for my husband and I. He even polished off the leftovers for breakfast the next morning! I spooned it into warmed tortillas along with sour cream and Mexican cheese and then broiled in the oven for about 5 minutes. I would also suggest combining all ingredients and bringing to a boil before adding the chicken, this way everything will be combined evenly. We were short on time so I only simmered for 10-15 minutes and it still turned out great.. any longer and the chicken would've been too dry. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I've made this for my husband and me several times. It is a huge hit each and every time! After I cook the chicken, I add it to a skillet along with cooked rice, black beans, tomatoes, and fresh cilantro -- just to allow it to heat through -- and then fill large flour tortillas with the mixture. It's absolutely wonderful! I know that the leftovers won't sit for long. Thanks so much for the recipe, Juli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
This was so good and easy. The chicken breast meat I had was already cooked, so I just shredded it and simmered in the sauce for a while. I did cut down on the tomato sauce. My family really enjoyed this. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
One word *Great!* I used it with a little sour cream and refried beans on a corn tortilla. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I have to admit, at first I was a bit skeptical, about adding tomato sauce, but it help keep all the spices together. Very flavorful, and just spicy enough! If you dont like spicy, I would try to tone it down a bit by adding less of the other spices and a bit more cumin. VERY good, I will make it again and again!! thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
this made an excellent dinner. I added a little onion and red and yellow peppers to the recipe. We also followed the dircection to put the filling in the wrapper add cheese and place in a baking dish with salsa and cheese on the top. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
We enjoyed this filling in a burrito with beans and rice. I think it would have been a bit too spicy for me by itself in a burrito, but with rice, it was perfect! I used one breast and one thigh since I think the dark meat makes it a bit more tender; but I love the idea of pulling the meat instead of cutting it up, very good that way! Very easy and simple ingredients and to prepare. The only thing is that I couldn't find a 4oz can of tomato sauce and I hate wasting half a can, so next time I might try to use the whole 8oz can and omit the salsa or use only salsa to make it easier, but I'm sure it will still be good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
yummm!!! i loved this, we cooked it in the oven and poured remaining sauce over it and ate them smothered, they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States