Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe I've been using for shredded chicken taco filling for a long time. The only real difference is that I use the crockpot instead of the stovetop, which really gives the chicken a nice tenderness and slow-cooked flavor. I sometimes replace the salsa with a third of a can of premade enchilada sauce and replace the envelope of taco spices with more individual spices (which makes it less salty), then mix in shredded cheese at the end to make a delicious enchilada filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Husband loved it!!! I thought it was really good also, and very easy to make. I did as other reviewers said and used the taco seasoning recipe on here instead of the packaged kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Brilliant! Made this for Hogmanay and everyone enjoyed it. Just emailing the recipe to our guests now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
My whole family LOVES this recipe. They always come back for seconds. I made it in the slow cooker as others suggested. I use Trader Joe's taco seasoning. It has a good mix of flavors and has only 260 mg of sodium. I also add more tomato sauce and salsa so there is enough liquid to cover the chicken. We like to use it in tacos. Leftovers freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Yummy and easy to make, this with those no fry refried beans, some guacamole, cheese and tomato's is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was fine. The chicken didn't dry out. It just wasn't delicious to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Personally, this was WAY too spicy for me, and that was with extra mild salsa and no hot sauce! I think, though, that the taco seasoning I used (Victorian Epicure) may have been the culprit. I wrapped the filling in 6" corn tortillas, put salsa and shredded cheese on top, and baked for 10 minutes at 350F. I put heaps and heaps of sour cream on top which helped lessen the spicyness somewhat and they ended up being surprisingly enjoyable :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Pretty good. While tasty, I'm not sure I'd make this on a regular basis. This is great for those nights when you need something simple and fuss-free on the table - QUICK (I'll save this for those occasions)! I do agree that this would be MUCH better if slow cooked. I had to add a considerable amount of chicken broth several times thruout the cooking process in order to keep my chicken "moist" (even on the lowest heat setting, my chicken seemed quite dry). Slow cooking would eliminate this. NOTE: Don't omit the cumin / chili powder! Yes, both are spices found in traditional taco seasoning, but adding them (in ADDITION) to the taco spices only enhances the overall flavor, IMHO. Served "taco style" with all the fixins' - chopped scallion and tomato, shredded lettuce, sharp cheddar and sour cream. Mexican rice completed our meal. Thanks for sharing, JUBEEFISH! My husband ESPECIALLY thanks you (he's ALWAYS begging me to make tacos lol!). :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Everyone in my home loved it.....the serving options are so versitle that it's going on my weekly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandee1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this today in my Lil' Dipper Crockpot. I used homemade salsa, homemade taco seasoning and california ground chili powder. Even cooked in the crockpot it turned out juicy and flavorful--perfect taco meat. I made taco salad bowls using my Perfect Tortilla taco bowl pans and making little bowls of toppings. The family thought this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States