Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Good recipe but just regular chicken tacos are just as good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Hanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I made it and while it was okay, mexican pulled chicken just isn't my thing. Not bad just not great. I found I had to add a lot of water even though I was only cooking it on medium. You have to be very careful to not overcook the chicken especially with chicken breast. I added more salsa and ended up with a bit too much sauce at the end. If I made it again I'd probably cut the cumin down and increase the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
My husband kept saying "wow" as he ate this! I felt quite proud after making this recipe! I didn't have any salsa on hand, so I used 8oz of tomato paste and chopped up 1/4ea of a red, yellow, and green pepper, as well as an onion instead. I also added 1/4 cup of water chicken bouillon and about 1tsp of cornstarch. I cooked it in the pan as directed (not in a crock pot as some people did) and used only a bit of salt, pepper, garlic salt, and a taco seasoning packet. Served them inside tortillas that I warmed on the stove in a non-stick skillet, and let them warm in the oven covered by a moist paper towel. They came out soft and almost steamed! Much better than the microwave tortillas. I also served it with white rice cooked with some chicken boullion, along with shredded cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth Jean Nicewonger-Camp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
This is one of the very few recipes I can honestly say I did not understand. I had to add an entire cup of low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Just so so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Super easy and tasted great. I used all the ingredients but made the recipe even easier. I mixed the tomato sauce, salsa, taco seasoning, cumin, garlic, and chili powder together and poured it over three whole chicken breasts in a skillet. I also added some chicken broth to add more liquid and make sure the chicken breasts were covered completely. I put it on the stove, let the liquid come to a boil, then covered the skillet and turned the heat down to simmer for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, I cubed the chicken instead of shredding it. Turned out great. This recipe will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
My family loved this! I didn't have the taco seasoning, I just added more of the recipe seasonings. We had tortillas with the chicken and refried beans, shredded cheddar cheese, tomatoes, black olives, brown rice, and avacado slices. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeon Terry Laszczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olney, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Love this recipe. I use three breasts and 8 ounces of tomato sauce and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
My husband has raved about this. I used chicken thighs, boiled them then put in food processor and chopped very fine then mixed on stove with other ingredients. Very good will be making more very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Very easy & worked out better than expected. I used about 20 oz. chicken tenderloins (so the chicken was already in small pieces). I omitted the taco seasoning but did everything else according to recipe. The chicken cooked quickly, was easy to shred, and didn't get tough. We'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States