Salsa Chicken and Potato Packets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I read the reviews about blandness and also the one who preseasoned the chicken breasts, so I created my own marinate for this easy recipe... 2 T Italian Dressing, 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper and 1/2 tsp garlic powder, whisked together, then brushed onto chicken breasts before I poured the 1/4 C of salsa on them. I used frozen chicken breasts so I cooked the packets on 375 for 1 hour. It came out DELICIOUS and very tasty!!! Both the potatoes and chicken were very tender and flavorful! This recipe is a keeper and GREAT when prep time is at a minimum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GwenLea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I pre-seasoned my chicken with chili powder, a dash of garlic salt, and pepper. Sprayed packets with Pam before sealing, and WOW! Turned out GREAT! Topped with chedder and served with rice! Great recipe to alter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Its quick and easy, but doesn't taste very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I made these tonight for supper and found them easy to make. Instead of using a whole breast, I diced the chicken up. I also added some shredded cheese. My husband really likes these and thought it was quite tasty. I, on the other hand, didn't like them as well. Anyone wanting to try these in the future should note that it took me longer than an hour to get the potato pieces soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
If it is bland, try seasoning everything! Seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper and topped with cheese when it came out of the oven. Absolutely delicious. Recipes are a guideline. Use your own ingenuity and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
The chicken was very taste and with a litle sour cream and cheese the potatoes were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Thanks! I was looking for something quick to make with a few ingredients and this recipe helped! I used fresh refrigerated salsa from the local grocery store and sprinkled some shredded chedder on top before serving. It was good! I think that the brand of salsa you use probably makes a big difference in the overall taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Like others I added exta spices (taco seasoning) cheddar cheese to mine, came out great. Was worried about the potatoes still being too hard but I sliced them really thin and they came out wonderful. This is a keeper at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I followed some other reviewers' advice and seasoned the chicken before putting it in the packet, and I feel like it made a big difference. I used GwenLea's marinade of Italian dressing, chili powder, garlic powder, and pepper and added a little Mrs. Dash. I would also recommend slicing the potatoes quite thin - some of my thicker slices weren't cooked all the way through, but the thinner ones were perfect. Topped with a little shredded cheese and sour cream, and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcgl001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Super Star for ease of preparation and cleanup, but it's not an amazing dinner option for flavor. Quite bland. My chicken overcooked while the potatoes were a bit firm. (and I used large chicken breasts!) It's one I might try again maybe spicin' it up a bit or adding shredded cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States