Salsa Chicken and Potato Packets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
After reading other reviews, I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, and garlic. I also tossed the potato slices with oil, salt, pepper, and garlic. I used extra salsa. The meal was really quite good- quick and easy, using ingredients I already had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made this using my fresh salsa and cooked in covered cast iron pan. Since chicken breasts by themselves are always bland, I always brine my chicken breasts in water with garlic granuales and salt. while this is garlic salt, I always do it in the 2 seperate ingreidents. this solves the problem of the chicken being bland and makes them moist. I ran 50 minutes at 350 with mexican cheese on top. I would run at 370 or go 60 minutes and add the cheese when I was done. I served witha side of guagamole made with my fresh salsa on lettuce for presentation. This was very easy and very interesting. I used skinned yukon golds and they were not perfectly done. That is the reason for the higher temp or longer time and from experience lies with my oven. I will definiatly do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I followed some other reviewers' advice and seasoned the chicken before putting it in the packet, and I feel like it made a big difference. I used GwenLea's marinade of Italian dressing, chili powder, garlic powder, and pepper and added a little Mrs. Dash. I would also recommend slicing the potatoes quite thin - some of my thicker slices weren't cooked all the way through, but the thinner ones were perfect. Topped with a little shredded cheese and sour cream, and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmcgl001

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Like others I added exta spices (taco seasoning) cheddar cheese to mine, came out great. Was worried about the potatoes still being too hard but I sliced them really thin and they came out wonderful. This is a keeper at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
If it is bland, try seasoning everything! Seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder and red pepper and topped with cheese when it came out of the oven. Absolutely delicious. Recipes are a guideline. Use your own ingenuity and it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Super easy to make and clean up. I added some Tex Mex seasoning to the chicken and sprinkled some frozen corn over the salsa to add a little crunch. These changes made this dish really tasty. The potatoes were a little under cooked even though they were sliced really thin. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Super Star for ease of preparation and cleanup, but it's not an amazing dinner option for flavor. Quite bland. My chicken overcooked while the potatoes were a bit firm. (and I used large chicken breasts!) It's one I might try again maybe spicin' it up a bit or adding shredded cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I read the reviews about blandness and also the one who preseasoned the chicken breasts, so I created my own marinate for this easy recipe... 2 T Italian Dressing, 1/4 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper and 1/2 tsp garlic powder, whisked together, then brushed onto chicken breasts before I poured the 1/4 C of salsa on them. I used frozen chicken breasts so I cooked the packets on 375 for 1 hour. It came out DELICIOUS and very tasty!!! Both the potatoes and chicken were very tender and flavorful! This recipe is a keeper and GREAT when prep time is at a minimum!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GwenLea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I pre-seasoned my chicken with chili powder, a dash of garlic salt, and pepper. Sprayed packets with Pam before sealing, and WOW! Turned out GREAT! Topped with chedder and served with rice! Great recipe to alter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Found it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Salsa Chicken

Simple, savory baked chicken flavored with taco seasoning and salsa.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States