Salsa Cheese Boule Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This recipe is awesome! I made it for a baby shower and it was a hit. Since then I've made it for another baby shower and a wedding luncheon, people asking me for the recipe each time. I double this recipe, using more cheddar and less sour cream and cream cheese (1 1/2 cups sour cream, 1 1/2 packages cream cheese) than it asks for and put it in a large bread bowl. I think what makes this so great is the salsa. If you don't have a really high quality salsa, it just won't turn out right. I go to the On the Border (mexican restaurant) and buy fresh salsa from the restaurant. It makes a HUGE difference and the result is amazing. I always serve with cut up baguettes, I don't like how it tastes with tortilla chips. I also increase my oven time to 2-3 hours when I double it and it comes out perfect after a little stirring halfway through. I highly recommend! It's one of my husband's favorites, no more rotel and velveeta for us! Thanks for the recipe Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is a hit. Great for a party. Friends had a Mexican dinner for 10 and our contribution was to be an appetizer. I didn't want to take a layered dip (good thing - someone else did) and this was perfect. I used a 1lb loaf but doubled the dip. When the dip ran low, I spooned in the dip that hadn't fit in the bread bowl (had heated it in the oven in a pie plate.) I served this on a big wooden platter with the torn-out bread and Fritos Scoops sprinkled around it. I'd been skeptical about baking this 1.5 hours, but after doubling the dip it needed at least that. Next time I will double it again but use a 2lb loaf (more bread to dip). The dip is yummy and goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2000
Thanks for this recipe. It was a hit at my godson's christening reception. We also added a twist by serving it with bread squares, pretzels, and broccoli for dipping!! It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This is like heaven in an edible bowl! I use the hottest salsa possible to give it an extra kick, and also use a bit more cheese. I have only had raving compliments from family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
We have made this for several parties...Everyone loves it and wants the recipe! Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was fantastic, I did not double it, and it made plenty for 10 adults. I baked it in a glass dish, and served scooped chips around it. I did add cumin and hot sauce, used fresh medium heat salsa probably 1 1/2-2 cups.. will be making sure to make this often for my gathering or to take with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This was an excellent dip. I had a big cook out for Cinco De Mayo where I had many mexican dishes. This was was the one that everyone, and I mean everyone, raved over. And you can't go wrong with the presentation. The bread bowl adds a unique dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My husband wanted a jarred cheese dip that I refused to buy him saying I could make one at home that was close and better tasting. I used homemade salsa and reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat sour cream. Instead of making it inside the bread, I let the cream cheese warm up on the counter for a bit and mixed it with the sour cream and spread it in a shallow baking dish. I spread the salsa over the top and the cheese over that. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350*. My husband loved it! I should say so.....he ate the whole thing by himself! I think next time, I might add some homemade taco seasoning or chili seasoning in with the cream cheese/sour cream for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Good but the bread was not good for this dip so I would just use tortilla chips and either skip the bread bowl alltogether or just use for presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I made this recipe for a new years eve get toghether. It was a total hit!!! I was glad I made a double batch, My husband and youngest son ate one themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States