Salsa Cheese Boule Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This recipe is awesome! I made it for a baby shower and it was a hit. Since then I've made it for another baby shower and a wedding luncheon, people asking me for the recipe each time. I double this recipe, using more cheddar and less sour cream and cream cheese (1 1/2 cups sour cream, 1 1/2 packages cream cheese) than it asks for and put it in a large bread bowl. I think what makes this so great is the salsa. If you don't have a really high quality salsa, it just won't turn out right. I go to the On the Border (mexican restaurant) and buy fresh salsa from the restaurant. It makes a HUGE difference and the result is amazing. I always serve with cut up baguettes, I don't like how it tastes with tortilla chips. I also increase my oven time to 2-3 hours when I double it and it comes out perfect after a little stirring halfway through. I highly recommend! It's one of my husband's favorites, no more rotel and velveeta for us! Thanks for the recipe Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is a hit. Great for a party. Friends had a Mexican dinner for 10 and our contribution was to be an appetizer. I didn't want to take a layered dip (good thing - someone else did) and this was perfect. I used a 1lb loaf but doubled the dip. When the dip ran low, I spooned in the dip that hadn't fit in the bread bowl (had heated it in the oven in a pie plate.) I served this on a big wooden platter with the torn-out bread and Fritos Scoops sprinkled around it. I'd been skeptical about baking this 1.5 hours, but after doubling the dip it needed at least that. Next time I will double it again but use a 2lb loaf (more bread to dip). The dip is yummy and goes fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2000
Thanks for this recipe. It was a hit at my godson's christening reception. We also added a twist by serving it with bread squares, pretzels, and broccoli for dipping!! It was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This is like heaven in an edible bowl! I use the hottest salsa possible to give it an extra kick, and also use a bit more cheese. I have only had raving compliments from family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
We have made this for several parties...Everyone loves it and wants the recipe! Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieRN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was fantastic, I did not double it, and it made plenty for 10 adults. I baked it in a glass dish, and served scooped chips around it. I did add cumin and hot sauce, used fresh medium heat salsa probably 1 1/2-2 cups.. will be making sure to make this often for my gathering or to take with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2001
This was an excellent dip. I had a big cook out for Cinco De Mayo where I had many mexican dishes. This was was the one that everyone, and I mean everyone, raved over. And you can't go wrong with the presentation. The bread bowl adds a unique dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
My husband wanted a jarred cheese dip that I refused to buy him saying I could make one at home that was close and better tasting. I used homemade salsa and reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat sour cream. Instead of making it inside the bread, I let the cream cheese warm up on the counter for a bit and mixed it with the sour cream and spread it in a shallow baking dish. I spread the salsa over the top and the cheese over that. I baked it for 30 minutes at 350*. My husband loved it! I should say so.....he ate the whole thing by himself! I think next time, I might add some homemade taco seasoning or chili seasoning in with the cream cheese/sour cream for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Good but the bread was not good for this dip so I would just use tortilla chips and either skip the bread bowl alltogether or just use for presentation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
I made this recipe for a new years eve get toghether. It was a total hit!!! I was glad I made a double batch, My husband and youngest son ate one themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States