Salsa Cheese Boule Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I made this for a church get-together and it was quite a hit-- I got asked for the recipe. It is easy to make and very tasty. Next time I will serve it with crunchy vegetables on the side. Good cold for leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Very tasty! I brought this to my sister's house on Sunday and the two of us gobbled down the entire batch by ourselves. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Followed recipe, but baked in a small casserole dish, covered with foil. Stirred it after 30 mins and it tasted pretty bland, so added 1 Tb chili powder and 1 1/2 tsp cumin. Tasted pretty good and consistency creamy at this point. Baked it another 30 minutes and consistency now like cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Very Good! I added SCALLIONS and sliced BLACK OLIVES to all some color and give it alittle more zip! I also used GUACAMOLE DORITO'S, yummy! The hot salsa makes it. Everyone loved this recipe. I am making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Thanks Julie for the excellent recipe. All my family enjoyed it very much and I'm certain that I'll be making it many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is a great dip! I know lots of other reviewers said they liked it in the bread bowl, but I make it right in an oven safe dish and serve it with tortilla chips. Also, if you do it without the bread, it doesn't take nearly as long to heat up. Make sure you use a salsa you really like, if not you probably won't like the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
This recipe is awesome! I made it for a baby shower and it was a hit. Since then I've made it for another baby shower and a wedding luncheon, people asking me for the recipe each time. I double this recipe, using more cheddar and less sour cream and cream cheese (1 1/2 cups sour cream, 1 1/2 packages cream cheese) than it asks for and put it in a large bread bowl. I think what makes this so great is the salsa. If you don't have a really high quality salsa, it just won't turn out right. I go to the On the Border (mexican restaurant) and buy fresh salsa from the restaurant. It makes a HUGE difference and the result is amazing. I always serve with cut up baguettes, I don't like how it tastes with tortilla chips. I also increase my oven time to 2-3 hours when I double it and it comes out perfect after a little stirring halfway through. I highly recommend! It's one of my husband's favorites, no more rotel and velveeta for us! Thanks for the recipe Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I just love this recipe! I've made it several times, and it always goes really, really fast. The only thing I do differently is just because I can be lazy (lol): I don't bother measuring the shredded cheese. I use one package of preshredded cheese from the supermarket (I find the seasoned ones the best, like taco or some Mexican blend). I like to serve this with not only the bread, but a hearty tortilla chip (like Tostito's Gold). The other thing I wanted to mention is that I wouldn't recommend using a sourdough boule for this. I tried it once, and it gave off a beer-like smell which I think in turn made the dip not taste as good. Definitely a staple in my recipe file. Thanks, Julie, for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Amazing! I took this to a party the first time I made it and it was a HIT! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
This was okay. I had it in the oven for the suggested time, but didn't seem hot throughout. My 8 year old didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States