Salmon with Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
An excellent, fresh-tasting way to eat salmon. Since I didn't have any garlic oil on hand, I used olive oil and added a couple cloves of fresh crushed garlic. I also didn't have any fresh parsley, so I substituted 1.5 Tbsp dried. The amount of spices is perfect and I like how the tomatoes don't overwhelm the taste of the salmon. I made my husband salmon with a sweeter sauce (I'm diabetic and can't share), and he kept trying to steal bits of mine anyway! I served it over brown rice instead of white for a healthier meal, and served it with steamed asparagus and fresh green beans. Very good and it tastes wonderfully fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This recipe is worth 10 stars! I made this for my family and the kids asked me to fix it again the very next day! I now serve it 2-3 times a month. I have served it for dinner parties; guests always love it and ask for the recipe. It's very easy to make. Tastes similar to a dish Red Lobster used to serve, but this is better. I subsitute olive oil since I can't find garlic oil in this area, and sometimes serve it over pasta instead of rice, which makes it extra filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Here's a quick update on this dish ... my husband suggested using jumbo prawns instead of salmon (although we love the salmon) ... I tried it yesterday and it's just as tasty. This is a FABULOUS dish! Below is my original review ... I made it last night and I thought my husband was going to pick up the plate to lick off the very last of the sauce! I made just a couple of easy changes ... I used brown rice rather than white, simply because it's a little healthier and I think brown has a better flavor. I used Mexican diced tomatoes since that's all I had, they were spicy and I figured that was what was being called for so what the heck? This dish is good enough for the PICKIEST of in-laws or children, a wonderful recipe for company or a romantic evening at home with your honey. Honest to goodness, this was DEEEE-LICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
This is REALLY good. would never think about adding all those spices together. The combo of all ingr. together reminded me of something canjun. One pointer... do break up the fish like the recipe says to do. I followed another reviewer and didn't and think the flavors would have mingled even better if the fish was broken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
thank you for sharing this very easy and tasty recipe - i agree - it truly deserves a fancier name! i was a bit afraid to flake the salmon in the last part of the recipe so i just left it in cubes but will flake it a bit next time. i didn't have garlic oil but simmered a large smashed clove of garlic in some canola oil before adding the salmon. i didn't have fresh parsley so i used dried. i didn't know what kind of parmesan cheese to use so i bought the type shredded in the bag and then put a little bit of the type you sprinkle over spaghetti. i sprinkled capers over half because only one daughter and i like capers. it's yummy and deeeeelicious and i will definately make it again. next time i will try the canned tomatoes if i don't have any fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe! I was worried about taking a beautiful piece of fish and preparing it like this but it was wonderful. I did serve it over angel hair pasta, which was great. I feel bad about saying that I "tweaked" the recipe just a bit, but I did. It seemed that the salmon needed just a bit more sauce and so I added about 1/4 cup of dry white wine and about 1/2 cup of heavy cream. It was so delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This a wonderful new way to cook salmon! We like it over rice as well as over angel hair pasta. I omitted the [hot sauce, used a can of Italian-style diced tomatoes, and added 1 tsp. Italian Seasoning. It was delicious and reheated well, also. Thanks, we're keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Wonderful dish. Didn't change a thing and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Loved this recipe as did the whole family (including my fussy 7 yr old son)! Whipped it up in no time when I was running late getting dinner organised. Omitted the hot sauce and didn't have any dill - but soooo good anyway!! (I diced the salmon before cooking it) Thanks - the kids were asking me to cook it again... got to be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Middlesex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Unusal recipe for salmon, but really good. My husband who mildly likes salmon kept saying "delicious, restaurant quality!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States