Salmon With Scalloped Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Really liked this, added garlic as previously advised, increased ginger & pepper, substituted canola oil for margarine, reduced orange juice & added 1/2 thinly sliced cabbage. Lots of changes but still great. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Craig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My husband and I were not fans of this. It was a strange combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I served this to my Dutch husband and stepson, and his new Croatian girlfriend, and everyone liked it quite well, even my husband and me, who don't really care for sweet potatoes! I followed the guidance of other readers and reduced the orange juice to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup of water to that. I also reduced the orange marmalade to 1 Tblsp to the sauce and 1 on the salmon. I added a chopped clove of garlic and used powdered ginger instead of fresh, as I was all out of fresh. I left the salmon steak in one piece, so it took an extra five minutes to get it cooked all the way through. We served it with a fresh Belgian endive salad (w/ apples, oranges, walnuts, and a balsamic vinaigrette dressing), which was a very good complement to the potatoes. Overall, a very good recipe that we will enjoy again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I took the one suggestion of adding garlic; otherwise it was made as suggested. We loved it! Our son, who is quite a good cook and loves salmon, had dinner with us and he was a big fan, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WARREN4
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Just made it last night for dinner. I was so impressed on how good this dish came out, that's why I join allrecipes.com today. I loved it! I can't wait to make it again. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and my husband and I loved, loved, loved this dish. If you are looking for heavy, cream laden potato with sugary topping, pass on this. If you are looking for a taste sensation, you will not be disappointed. This is one terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I didn't make the salmon, I just wanted a sweet potato side dish that wasn't packed with brown sugar and suffocated with marshmallows. They're good as is, but need tweeking. I used about 2 tablespoons oj concentrate, real maple syrup, 3 cloves of garlic, dried ginger, butter, thyme, salt, and black pepper. I may try the salmon later, but will definitely be making these potatoes often. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
i was disappointed by this recipe. It doesn't do much for the salmon... the potatoes and the overwhelming orange flavor carry the dish. And I used fresh-caught wild Alaskan red! I think a salmon dish should bring out the flavors, not bury them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I really wanted to love this recipe, but sadly, I thought it was just okay. Although my husband liked it a lot more than I did, I thought it was a tad bland and suffered from too much orange juice flavor. I guess I am just not ready to give up scalloped meaning it has some naughty dairy product in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States