Salmon with Pecan Honey Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
Fast and Easy way to make Salmon. Cooking for (2). Toasted Walnut pieces in Skillet. Used only about 3Tbs butter, equal parts Honey Syrup (about 2-3Tbs ea), tsp of dried mustard and a capful of Vanilla. This gave the glaze a suble sweetbuttery flavor but NOT overpowering. Added the Walnuts and let it simmer while Salmon cooked. Only used about 2Tbs of oil to coat bottom of pan... Salmon BROWNED nicely. The glaze was the PERFECT compliment to the CRUSTY Salmon and the VERY soft Walnuts. As with most recipes ... I am a TASTER ... I can always ADD but cannot remove an ingredient. THANKS...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet  - NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
It was a great change in how I normally cooked salmon. Every step in the recipe went as planned but the final product didn't taste like I thought it would. My wife doesn't like honey (but doesn't mind it when in recipes) but this recipe tasted too much like honey for her. I liked it and I liked how easy it was to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
My husband and I really enjoyed this tasty salmon recipe. Next time though I will change the recipe a bit. To make it lower in fat, I will probably try to grill or bake the salmon. If I cook the fish in the skillet as the recipe indicates, I will definitely use less butter and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Our family did not care for this dish. The sauce was too sweet and frying the salmon like this caused it to be too fishy tasting. We usually bake our salmon and it doesn't have the fishy taste. It tasted like you were eating too strongly flavored fish with sugar on top to try to cover the taste, which it didn't. There was no blending of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
The pecan honey glaze is WAYYYYY too sweet and overpowering for the salmon. The flavours do not go well together at all. It tasted like I scooped out the filling of a pecan pie and dumped it on top of a perfectly good salmon entree. We immediately scraped all of the glaze off of our salmon and ate it plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
This is now a family favorite. Even my daughter who doesn't usually like salmon loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLASH46
Home Town: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Not too bad... I would use half of the honey next time because it is a little too sweet for me. Someone else suggested adding dry mustard to the sauce.... that may be just what it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMESWHO
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Pretty good. I found this to be a little too sweet and oily for my liking tho'. I'll definitely make this again, but reduce the amount of honey and butter/oil. That shld make it lighter. All around, a good, quick, weekday dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
This was super easy! My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe, but although we have no complaints, I can understand how some people may find it too sweet. For those people I would sugeest adding some dried mustard to the honey pecan glaze. I also perfer poaching my salmon, as it perserves the true flavor of the fish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
This dish is awesome! I have fixed it for a crowd and just for my husband. The recipe can be sucessfully cut in half or doubled. I have substituted sliced almonds for the pecans on several occassions. My guests always ask for the recipe and rave about how wonderful it compliments the Salmon. Last night I used Buckwheat honey - it added a molasses type flavor to the sauce. It was yummy! Note: Be careful not to cook the sauce more than 10 - 12 minutes on medium heat. It can turn to candy as it cools. Thanks Kimber for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States