Salmon with Mango and Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
YUMMY! My boyfriend and I made this tonight, and loved it. We altered the mango sauce a little, and simmered it with about a half cup of coconut milk, and added about 2 tsps of sweet chili sauce and lime juice. It added a little bit of asian flair, and the brie mellows it out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
This was so yummy!!! mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This one's pretty good. The salmon, brie & mango flavors combined very well together. I think it needed a lot more seasoning added, though I'm not sure what would be best. The mango sauce was fabulous though, I enjoyed that by itself! Went great with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was awesome! I made it for my family who isn't too fond of salmon or brie (I'm in love with both), and now they can't get enough of either! It was perfect over rice with some greens on the side. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
really good! I sauted garlic in my cast iron skillet before searing the salmon in it. I also toasted some coconut to serve on top. Went great with coconut rice, will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The recipe by itself is great, however, it needs a bit improvement here and there to make the presentation way more appealing: I had the mango sauce (with fresh mint leaves by the way...) on the side and the brie was added almost around serving, this way doesn't get messy and your plate looks like 5 star cooking. A real keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ciudad De México, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I cooked this recipe with halibut instead of salmon and it was still wonderful! Only change I'll make next time is more mango sauce. Using ripe mangos was a great suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNEJDL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was very good! We made the salmon on the grill on a cedar board. At the very end laid the brie on top to melt-- which only took a couple of minutes-- the cedar board added a great smokey flavor to it all. As for the sauce, on other reviewers suggestion I added a pinch of cayanne pepper. I used jarred mangoes and added a tiny bit of the juice from the jar as well so that they could cook up better. They didnt get completely smooth, which could be remedied by putting in blender, however we liked the sauce just fine with the small chunks of mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! The only problem that I ran into is that the brie melted almost completely off the salmon, but I just layered more brie on before ladling the mago sauce on. For the mango topping, the mangos I started with were a bit unripe, so I took another reviewers advice and blended them in the blender first. I think this greatly facillitated with making it smooth, for the unblended chunks never got smooth on their own. I also added some lemon juice, some brown sugar, and a pinch of cayenne pepper. It was great over the rice I served on the side. Be prepared to make extras, but don't expect any leftovers, everything was scraped clean! This is one of my favourite recipes and the only reason it isn't getting 5 stars is because of how much I changed it. Have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I thought this was great! I used creamy swiss wedges on top of each fillet, instead of the brie. I also puree'd the mangoes after cooking them. They never did get "smooth", but the blender did the trick!! Regardless, the flavors together were AMAZING!! Maybe the swiss is a better flavor than the brie?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States