Salmon with Creamy Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Lovely recipe--I've made it four times now. I do not put the horseradish in the dill sauce (personal preference) fyi. It does make a difference what type of salmon you use. The first time, I made it with ordinary farm-raised salmon, and it was quite moist and succulent. The next two times, I used wild salmon, and it came out a bit dry, since these fish tend to have a lower fat content (I think I used Keta salmon once, can't remember the other). I have since learned that some farm-raised salmon has things added to its diet to increase the moistness of its flesh. The fourth time I made this dish, I used the most expensive King salmon, on the recommendation of the person at my fish counter (said it has a higher fat content), and it was, once again, moist and succulent. So do your homework as to which type of salmon you prefer, and adjust your cooking times/temps accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Sensational! I have made it several times and have recieved rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is fabulous just a dash of cayenne on top with the sourcream is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
OMG! is all i can say about this recipe! I've never commented on this site but this was something i def had to comment on. This fish was so delicious my 3yr old asked for 2nds and she HATES ANY AND ALL SEAFOOD, so she thinks. And thought the sauce was ranch so she devoured that as well. I did make everything as the recipe follows except i did bake it in the oven the entire time on 400 like a prev comment said. I served with Asaparagus and Wild Rice. And it was amazing even brought it to work for lunch and my cowrkrs were asking for a bite and then the recipe..This is a def winner!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I love making this salmon! I hate horseradish so I used 1 tbs dijon mustard instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal_roy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
The sauce is excellent. I did double the lemon and the horseradish to give it some extra "tang" but that is more of a personal preference than anything. Some advice, make a little extra... I kept dipping a spoon into the sauce while the salmon was cooking and "tasting" it, just to make sure it was as good as I remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This recipe gets 5 starts b/c of the dill sauce. That stuff is great! I didn't have any horseradish on hand, so I went with someone else's suggestion and used dijon mustard, but added 2 cloves of freshly minced garlic to give it some of the kick it would have gotten from the horseradish. I also double the amount of dill. I found the cooking time needed to be longer, esp the broiling time, but if you just keep a close eye on it, you can figure out how long it needs to be cooked. The salmon was fine, nothing special, but paired with the sauce made it awesome. Very easy recipe...I definitely plan on using this in the future...even with other types of fish. Maybe a breaded white fish next time for some texture. I think it would taste yummy with the dill sauce. No more tartar sauce for me! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I made this last Friday and followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the lemon slices (didn't have any) and just sprinkled a little lemon juice on the Salmon. We live in California and my husband fishes for Salmon when ever he can. He has tasted dozens of recipes for Salmon and just went CRAZY for this, saying "This is the best I've ever had!" I have already told my family members about this recipe. Thank You!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This is a staple when I have guests over!!! It is delicious! I actually use the dip to go with oysters as well. I added a little bit of horseradish and people LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Good recipe. My husband is not a fan of sauces, however I am. He really enjoyed the salmon without the sauce. I ate it with and the sauce that everyone is raving about is so-so. I will cook the salmon this way in the future, but will look for an alternate dill sauce/sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States