Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is a recipe I also use and get rave reviews over. However....I adapted it 3 yrs ago from TX Land and Cattle restaurant's version, only they use brown sugar and Shiner Bock dark beer! With this bourbon version, I lay my fillets out and gently press the brown sugar into the fillets, then sprinkle them with the bourbon - I let them "rest" for about 30 minutes before quickly browning the sugar glazed filets over med-high heat in a non-stick saucepan, about 2 min each side. I wrap up the cooking process by popping them in the microwave for 1-1 1/2 minutes, depending on the thickness of the filets. These filets make a terrific presentation in a romaine-based salad with a topping of honey and brown sugar glazed coarsely chopped pecans (Johnny Carino's restaurants serve it like this) Enjoy! Impressive and will work well over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colleyville, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Absolutely wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. I'm not sure why the previous reviewers experienced burned food, I had no problems. Just in case though, be sure not to use too much heat. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
The only change I made to the recipe was to soak my salmon in milk first to help counteract that fishy flavor. I was hoping that the bourbon would make "saucier" caramel but it all evaporated off & the caramel was indeed, caramel. I made extra to use as a topping & as soon as it hit the plate it solidified into a pretty tasty, chewy morsel of caramel. But who wants to peel caramel off their plate? LOL The flavor was great paired w/ the salmon though so next time, I'll add the bourbon later so that it doesn't all cook off. I paired this w/ brown rice cooked in wine & chicken broth & a salad w/ rice pudding for dessert. Thansk for a nice recipe Debbie F...we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Great recipe! I experimented by substituting soy sauce for the bourbon and I loved it. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Delicious! I took the advice of another user and added 1/4 cup soy sauce and a crushed garlic clove, added with the bourbon. I let the sauce simmer to a glaze after I removed the fish. The glaze is very flavorful/sweet, so if you are afraid of overpowering your salmon, I'd skip this recipe or leave the extra glaze off. I, however, enjoy the strong, sweet flavor and used a generous amount over my fish and brown rice :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
WOW!!!! Only the words of my fiance could do this recipe justice. "This is like gor-met or something!" Very simple to make. I served it with white rice, corn on the cob, and cherry tomatoes in dressing. It was a very appealing presentation. 5 STARS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Absolutely delicious! My husband raved about it! Definitely fit for guests and it tastes like you spent hours on it, but it only takes minutes. I will be making this on a regular basis. This is the best salmon recipe I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I used Schwans frozen salmon pieces, which when cooked produced a little more liquid than the original recipe called for. To compensate, I left the salmon in the pan, turned the heat off, and continued cooking my vegetables. This worked out great!!!! The sauce formed a thin crust on the salmon. The flavor was wonderful and the leftover salmon was great in a caeser salad the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I thought this was very good, but it was VERY sweet - I love sweet sauces with meat, but it was a bit too sweet for my husband and daughter. If you like the bourbon taste, also try the orange and bourbon grilled salmon recipe - it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This was ok but I won't make it again. Be careful with the temp.--the sugar burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States