Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I was a hero with this recipe. Very easy and tasty. My kids loved it. Next time I would lighten up on the bourbon a bit...a little of that flavor goes a long way. Also, I used filets instead of a steak cut.... It took about a minute(of cook time) off of each side. Served with rice, salad and fresh fruit...what a hit this made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is fantastic as-is! I've made it several times with great results, and it's now a favorite of ours. For variation, try using Amaretto (like Disaronno) instead of the bourbon - it's yummy served on a spring mix salad with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKEDDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and was very disappointed. It was so sweet that we couldn't even finish it. I thought the bourbon would counteract the sweetness of brown sugar, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very good! it was a nice change from lemon dill salmon. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I tried this recipe but wanted to cut down on the fat/sugar content so I substituted 2 Tbsp of worchestershire and 2 Tbsp of lite soy sauce for the 4 Tbsp of butter and added a Tbsp of olive oil. I whisked in a 1/4 cup of brown sugar (instead of 1/2) and let that heat to a boil over medium heat before adding the salmon which i peppered on both sides with fresh ground pepper. I didn't change the cooking times or instructions after that. The family enjoyed it; especially my 13 year-old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wonderful! Super quick-I added some soy sauce and garlic to cut the sweetness a little and I used crown royal since thats what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
definately a make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I tried this recipe. It turned out great and I liked it, however, my family gave it a thumbs down and said to never make it again. While I liked it, I have had better prepared salmon and only planned to make it again if everyone liked it. There is nothing wrong with the recipe itself, just not to our taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I'm giving this a 5, even though it was a bit too sweet. We LOVED the ingredients, and I think the next time I'll cut back a little on the brown sugar and add a little garlic. We loved the flavor of Jack Daniel's! Served over sticky rice? Ohh, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Wonderful! I added fresh minced garlic, but otherwise made it just as the recipe stated. My husband is temporarily on a completely salt-free diet for medical reasons, and it's nearly impossible to find decent recipes that don't call for salt. I did add salt to mine at the table, but it was great even without it. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Grilled Lamb with Brown Sugar Glaze

See how to make savory grilled lamb chops in a delicately sweet marinade.

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States