Salmon with Brown Sugar and Bourbon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I followed the directions as written and personally really liked this, even though it is quite sweet. My boyfriend, on the other hand, did not like the sweetness of it. I prepared as written and served it over a brown rice with sesame green beans on the side. Made for a very nice meal. I will make this again... just not for my boyfriend. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe is awesome. Gourmet tasting. I didn't have any Bourbon in the house but I did have Brandy. I followed the recipe as it was listed and it was a little sweet. Probably because of the brandy. So, at the end of cooking I added some soysauce to it to counteract the sweetness and it made a wonderful combination. Remember this is only due to the use of the brandy versus bourbon. Fantastic and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeitfresh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
first, i soaked the fillets in milk per other reviewers, and then gently pressed the sugar in the fillets, sprinkled the bourbon on top and let them rest for an hour or so (again, another reviewer's advise). i could not even eat it. it was waaaaaaaaaaay too sweet, and i usually LOVE sweet things. this was just too much. i really thought it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I was a hero with this recipe. Very easy and tasty. My kids loved it. Next time I would lighten up on the bourbon a bit...a little of that flavor goes a long way. Also, I used filets instead of a steak cut.... It took about a minute(of cook time) off of each side. Served with rice, salad and fresh fruit...what a hit this made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe is fantastic as-is! I've made it several times with great results, and it's now a favorite of ours. For variation, try using Amaretto (like Disaronno) instead of the bourbon - it's yummy served on a spring mix salad with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKEDDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and was very disappointed. It was so sweet that we couldn't even finish it. I thought the bourbon would counteract the sweetness of brown sugar, but I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNM CATERING
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Very good! it was a nice change from lemon dill salmon. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I tried this recipe but wanted to cut down on the fat/sugar content so I substituted 2 Tbsp of worchestershire and 2 Tbsp of lite soy sauce for the 4 Tbsp of butter and added a Tbsp of olive oil. I whisked in a 1/4 cup of brown sugar (instead of 1/2) and let that heat to a boil over medium heat before adding the salmon which i peppered on both sides with fresh ground pepper. I didn't change the cooking times or instructions after that. The family enjoyed it; especially my 13 year-old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Wonderful! Super quick-I added some soy sauce and garlic to cut the sweetness a little and I used crown royal since thats what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
definately a make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

See how to make a quick glaze for grilled or broiled salmon.

Salmon & Asparagus en Papillote with Brown Rice

Enjoy a complete, healthy-choice meal with baked salmon and brown rice.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States