Salmon Spread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
I made this last week for a party, using leftover grilled salmon instead of poached salmon. I also added a few drops of liquid smoke so the spread would have a "smoked salmon" flavor. Otherwise, I followed the exact recipe. It was very well recieved. I served it with a combination of crackers, and carrot and celery sticks. The recipe makes a large bowl of spread. Right after I made it, I tested it on a cracker and was not terribly impressed. The next day I tried it again, and it was delicious. Definitely NEEDS that 8 hours in the fridge for the flavors to properly blend. When I got ready to leave the party, the salmon spread was almost completely gone. I'll make this again -- THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwanInWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I used canned salmon, left out the worcestershire and onion, used more hot sauce, and added liquid smoke. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
I made this recipe using 1 can of canned salmon (drained)instead of the fillet. It turned out really good! I also added a couple of blobs of mayonnaise and served it with toasted challah bread. It made for an interesting appetizer, my guests devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Use leftover vegetables and part of an onion with the poaching water. I agree that 1/4 cup white wine also is good for poaching. I substituted leftover baked salmon, cooked just till moist and "whipped" cream cheese with plain yoghurt(not sour cream). I liked adding smoked spanish paprika and a little horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suekenai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Made this for a friend's wedding reception and it was better than I expected. I probably used more salmon than it called for, and will use more in the future when I make it as a sandwich filling. I was worried when I first made it because it was kind of bland, but it was definitely better after setting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Extremely versatile recipe. I wanted to use fresh salmon but couldn't find it on sale so used canned which was cheaper and it turned out wonderful. HINT: if using canned salmon, be sure to get a brand that is marked "boneless & skinless." I spent forever picking through pulverized fish bones :) My additions: couple drops of liquid smoke for a hint of savory, a couple pinches of dill weed, and replaced the salt with 1/4 tsp of Penzey's Trinidad Spice which is a mix of salt, lemon peel, garlic, clove & ginger. Not overpowering, just gives it a nice layering of flavors. Next time I'll try the recipe as written because it sounds great too! Thanks for the addition to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was fantastic. What a great change from the usual smoked salmon recipes. I halved it because I didn't need as much as this recipe called for. It does need quite a bit more hot sauce for more zing plus a little garlic powder. Overnight refrigeration is an absolute MUST for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Very Yummy! Brought this to a Christmas party and it was all the rave! I love this because you don't have to worry if somebody is allergic to shellfish. I did add garlic powder, and cut the salmon to 3/4lb. There will DEFINITELY be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I've made this recipe several times, and it's always popular. It's incredibly easy to put together. I add a little pepper and about half a teaspoon of horseradish, which you can't really taste, but it adds complexity to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Because of diet limitations, I used this more as a basic recipe, adapted to my diet. I used baked salmon that was leftover (I usually have some around to use in salads); low fat cream cheese, fat free plain yogurt, no salt or worcertshire sauce, lemon pepper, dry chives, onion powder, chopped garlic, and a bit of sriracha (an asian hot sauce thatalso gave the spread a pinkish color), thus making it with minimal fat and salt. To make it "smoked". I added about a capful of liquid smoke ( my answer to having inexpensive smoked items until I can buy my own smoker as smoked salmon around her runs $20.00+ a pound). It came out really yummy. I served it on toast points with a sprinkle of paprika to give it a more festive look. All I can say, was it was all gone in minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States