Salmon Spread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was fantastic. What a great change from the usual smoked salmon recipes. I halved it because I didn't need as much as this recipe called for. It does need quite a bit more hot sauce for more zing plus a little garlic powder. Overnight refrigeration is an absolute MUST for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Because of diet limitations, I used this more as a basic recipe, adapted to my diet. I used baked salmon that was leftover (I usually have some around to use in salads); low fat cream cheese, fat free plain yogurt, no salt or worcertshire sauce, lemon pepper, dry chives, onion powder, chopped garlic, and a bit of sriracha (an asian hot sauce thatalso gave the spread a pinkish color), thus making it with minimal fat and salt. To make it "smoked". I added about a capful of liquid smoke ( my answer to having inexpensive smoked items until I can buy my own smoker as smoked salmon around her runs $20.00+ a pound). It came out really yummy. I served it on toast points with a sprinkle of paprika to give it a more festive look. All I can say, was it was all gone in minutes. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Made this for a girls' night to rave reviews. I think that next time I'll add a little more salt and freshly ground pepper. Yumm! Maybe a little bit of liquid smoke?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Outstanding. Used salmon and halibut that a friend sent from Alaska. Went right by the recipe except used leftover grilled fish. The fish were marinated in: juice of 2 red grapefruit + 1 tsp zest 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil 2 cloves garlic, crushed 1 tsp dijon mustard 3 TBS soy sauce Marinated fish (3 lbs) for 2 hours and cooked on medium high gas grill for 10 minutes, skin side down, unturned, using pecan hulls dropped directly onto the ceramic coals for the smoke. Used 12 oz salmon ans 6 oz halibut (18 oz instead of the 16 oz called for in the recipe as that was what I had left over). The dip wasn't anything to write home about when first made but the next day it was outstanding. Server with Ritz crackers and butter (Townhouse) crackers. Will probably try it next time with canned salmon. The grilled Alaskan fish were fantastic but I don't get that often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springhill, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Use leftover vegetables and part of an onion with the poaching water. I agree that 1/4 cup white wine also is good for poaching. I substituted leftover baked salmon, cooked just till moist and "whipped" cream cheese with plain yoghurt(not sour cream). I liked adding smoked spanish paprika and a little horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suekenai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I chose this recipe because I had fresh salmon I wanted to use up -- most recipes are for smoked salmon dips. So, for that I really liked it. It went over great at work, but I really wanted a bit more flavor (so I added garlic powder and was quite pleased).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I served this at a Valentine's Day dinner and it was a big hit. I loved this recipe because it used fresh salmon filet instead of canned. It was delicious and so easy to do. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Extremely versatile recipe. I wanted to use fresh salmon but couldn't find it on sale so used canned which was cheaper and it turned out wonderful. HINT: if using canned salmon, be sure to get a brand that is marked "boneless & skinless." I spent forever picking through pulverized fish bones :) My additions: couple drops of liquid smoke for a hint of savory, a couple pinches of dill weed, and replaced the salt with 1/4 tsp of Penzey's Trinidad Spice which is a mix of salt, lemon peel, garlic, clove & ginger. Not overpowering, just gives it a nice layering of flavors. Next time I'll try the recipe as written because it sounds great too! Thanks for the addition to my recipe box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I used goat cheese, which I had on hand, instead of cream cheese, and lime instead of lemon, which gave the flavor profile a bit of a kick. The salmon was poached in a wine/water combo, with dill and cilantro. Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zarcon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Good reviews on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Armywife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States