Salmon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
I hate tuna salad but I love salmon. I substituted dill for capers and added a little chopped onion. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was really good. I made the following revisions: I used 4 tablespoons of Mayo with Olive Oil only. I used about 2 T of fresh dill, 1/2 tsp of lemon juice, no capers, 1 cup of chopped celery, 1/8 tsp of garlic powder, and fresh pepper. I also threw in 2 green onions sliced small. Very tasty and now I can get find another use for canned salmon other than salmon cakes! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe! I used left-over grilled salmon rather than the canned. I added chopped walnuts, cut back on the celery and capers, and used a couple of shakes of cayenne rather than the black pepper. I served it on bagels with slices of smoked mozzarella, chopped tomatoes and lettuce. FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
excellent, I used full fat mayo and yorgurt as well as wild canned alaskan salmon and it was great the yogurt really lightens it up. oh and i hate capers so i omitted them. Overall a nice change from tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was very good! I avoid tuna and this was a yummy alternative. I like salmon better than tuna anyway. I had no plain yogurt so I used light sour cream instead. I also only used half of the celery, and left out the capers and added dill. Used Trader Joe's wild Alaskan canned salmon. Ate as a sandwich on whole-grain bread, with sliced avocados and baby lettuces. So good! Next time I might add a dash of lemon juice and some garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This is a great basic recipe for Salmon Salad. I did use a large can of Salmon, drained, removed skin and crushed the bones. I used regular Mayo and unflavored Greek style yogurt. I don't care for capers, per another reviewer suggestion I used 3/4 tsp. of dill. The dill complimented the tang of the yogurt nicely. Curry powder would be a nice seasoning for this dish, I would start with 1/2 tsp. then adjust up if needed. I served this on artisan bread with red leaf lettuce and sliced tomato. Cantaloupe was served as well. A nice Zinfandel, fresh limeade would be a great beverage choice with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
The use of yogurt here a great idea for lowering calories without sacrificing too much flavor. Wonderful recipe Jessica! Thanks for sharing. Question: I bought a can of wild caught pink salmon (my first time buying canned salmon) and was disappointed to find plenty of bones and some skin residues along with the salmon. I suspect this isn't in all canned salmon versions. Can anyone recommend a brand that comes without the bones? Thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
It was a little bland as written for my personal taste. I bumped up the flavor with celery seed, finely chopped green onions, dill weed, diced red bell pepper, and sweet salad cubes. I started with a teaspoon of each and adjusted as I went along. I used envelopes of salmon and not canned. I served on whole wheat flatbread, with spring greens on top and a squeeze of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAME673

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was delicious, Jessica. I used leftover salmon from our Balsamic Glazed Salmon Fillets, (recipe also from this site). Only had mayo, added a bit of dill and used Lawry's Seasoned Pepper. Served on a bed of baby lettuce with sliced cucumber, avocado and grape tomatoes around the edge of the dish. Sprinkled with lemon juice. Nice change of pace from tuna, and made for a beautiful presentation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
it was good, in my opinion. Only, I brought it to a potluck dinner and nobody said anything special... so I'll go on experimenting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States