Salmon Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I found the combination of feta cheese and smoked salmon too salty. This recipe would be better with fresh cooked salmon or substitue feta cheese with cream cheese. There needs to be more balance for all the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I used fresh salmon and drizzled it with 3T of olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper then baked it in the oven at 400* for about 10 minutes. I let it cool for a few minutes and then flaked it with a fork and combined it with the other ingredients. I also cut the puff pastry into smaller sections, as the packets get much bigger when they bake. Some of my packs did split open, so I would probably fill them less and also try to rub some egg on the seam to make them stay together better when baking. Overall it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
I made a few changes since my family doesn't care for Feta cheese. I mixed finely chopped green onion with 1/2 cup cream cheese and 1/2 cup Miracle Whip, 1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese and the salmon; then I filled puff pastry shells and baked according to instructions. This recipe made a wonderful appetizer tray for our fishing club's outdoor BBQ. Thanks Kay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
Instead of puff pastry, I used bisquick and rolled it out way thin. That was good too. I love seafood. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
First off, this recipe is not as difficult as it may first appear. I had dinner on the table in 45 minutes. This dish has great presentation; my husband said it was "fancy." The filling is very rich. A little goes a long way so be sparing. In the future I will probably add some spinach as the author suggested for more color, nutrition, and variety. Overall, a lovely dish for the not-too-picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I omitted the cheese - didn't want any special trips to the store. These are delish. I put lemon zest, S&P on the fish that I cubed and dried very well. Be sure to refrigerate the dough parcels for about 15 minutes before baking. Serve with a dill sauce, creme fraiche or alone...they are wonderful and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This was real tasty, just got done eating it. I made it half peppered smoked salmon & half tiny shrimp and it was exceptional. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Great recipe! After reading the reviews and I used Bisquick as well instead of the frozen puffs. The result was a smaller dumpling version of the puffs which was good but maybe the frozen puffs could have made it a bit more airy or crispy. I substituted the feta for reduced fat cream cheese, then added green onions and spinach. They were fantastic! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
These were great. I made some without the Salmon due to my friends being a vegetarianthey were just as good. I would say make sure when thawing the puff pastry to un fold it when thawing, I had to use a roller and flatten it out since i couldn't pull it apart. Next time i will try to make them prettier too. Overall great and I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Mmmm these were so cute! I loosely based my puffs off these, using cheddar cheese instead of ricotta. I could have added more though, since a lot of it oozed out. Oh well, I'll pay more attention to that next time. Yes, there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States