Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I tried these and they were sort of bland. I made some changes to the recipe and they came out great. I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of cornmeal, added dried parsley, worcestershire sauce, and milk. One can of salmon works well with this also. A tip, frying them in olive oil makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
can canned salmon go bad? i think myne was... but i opened another can, made the patties, and it still turned out pretty bad. wasn't liking the flavour, the crumbliness, etc. won't use this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This recipe was very good. I changed a few things though...I used flour instead of cornmeal and I added another egg. I used the liquid from the canned salmon. The recipe doesnt say either way but it really made them taste great. I did however have problems with them falling apart while flouring them so I just held them in my hand and floured each side. They cooked very well and had no problems during that process. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I use a little different variation, but this is excellent and my whole family loves it. I use 1 can salmon and 1 can mackerel(makes it more moist) I omit the celery and lightly roll in flour instead of cornmeal, then just enough oil to brown on both sides. We eat it with ketsup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
These were great and held together just fine! Will definitely make again with no changes! I love salmon, and used canned, as my mom always used, with this recipe, better than moms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
I thought these were just OK I did add another egg to hold them together better. I may try the boiled potatoes next time as some of the other reviewers suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
These were very good. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I started with some fresh oven-baked salmon that I had left-over. After reading the reviews, I took the advice of HISGIRLTOY1125 and substituted 3 boiled & then mashed potatoes plus a little mayo for the crackers. I added one grated carrot for a little more color and nutrition and a teaspoon of dillweed for a little more flavor. I made a bunch of little patties - 3 inches across - so they'd be easier to flip without falling apart and cooked them on a griddle brushed with oil. Served them with cream dill sauce. Delicious. Definitely a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom cooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
These were awesome... didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
I loved this receipe. My mom made salmon patties growing up but they never tasted this good. I did substitute flour for the cornmeal and added pimentoes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States