Salmon Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made salmon patties for the first time ever tonight using this recipe as a base, and I would definitely make them again. I did double the recipe and added 2 tsp of Old Bay Seasoning, 1tsp of garlic powder, 1/2 tsp of pepper, and used seasoned bread crumbs as I didn't have saltines. I found they did have a little trouble staying together, but I'm not sure if they were too wet or too dry. I used 2 eggs even though the recipe, even when doubled, still called for just 1. All in all, they were really good. My husband said they tasted like crab cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DfromATX
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Pleasantly surprised. I've never had canned salmon before and was a little nervous when I first opened the can, but I fixed it according to the recipe - plus one egg and some extra spices - and it turned out really good! No problems with it sticking, you just have to be gentle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
These were the best salmon patties I've ever made. I tend to be a "do it yourselfer" cook but my salmon patties all fall apart. These did not and they were yummy - my goal was to make them exactly as written. I always make any recipe from a website as written and rate it as written. However - I wasn't paying attention to what was written and added the cornmeal to the patties. My Cuisinart Smart Stick chopper did a great job of chopping the veggies fine, which my husband prefers. Anyway - they still turned out delicious. I suppose because I did use all the ingredients. However, because I messed up and added the cornmeal I did have to add a little egg beater to add more liquid. They stayed together perfectly. I made the crock pot refried beans on all recipes with this. Good meal. Thanks for posting these - I looked everywhere for what sounded like a good salmon patty recipe with veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxyquilter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Followed recipe as written but did not have saltines so subtituted bread crumbs instead (approx. 1 T for ea. cracker). The cornmeal gave it a really nice crispness. For those that complained about them falling apart, be gentle! You'll be rewarded with a really nice and easy salmon patty! Make it even better...serve with the Creamy Dill Dipping Sauce from this site. WOW...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victory Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
this was awesome - best salmon patties I have ever had. only thing I added was 4 tablespoons of mayonnaise, and used 2 eggs instead of one. Also used crushed garlic croutons instead of saltines. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great recipe, my mum used to add jalepenos just to make us suffer. I really loved them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NutellaBznss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I used fresh salmon in this recipe that I had left over from the night before. I mixed in the cornmeal with the mixture and added another egg. They turned out somewhat like a hush puppy with salmon and my kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Too much bread and not enough fish. It tasted like fishy cornmeal. Lacks flavor. I recommend finding a different recipe, rather than trying to fix this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Impossible to keep together and just crumbles. We couldn't even cook it. Definitely not recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
have made these 3 times now & we love them...we do add some old bay & love the dill sauce suggested earlier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States