Salmon Patties II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I disagree with the previous comments. We have this recipe quite frequently with nothing extra and my family loves it!!! In fact, my daughter is an extremely picky eater and she loves it as well. Thank you Del. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This would be tasteless. Drain the salmon and add 2-3 slices of bread that you have soaked in water. Add garlic powder, about a tbsp of worcestershire sauce, egg, onion or minced onion, and one shot of hot pepper sauce. Make the patties, dredge in flour and then fry in oil. I always keep canned salmon in the pantry and the family knows that when I make these, I've run out of everything else! But we love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
My ex-boyfriends Grandmother made these and they are delicious. You might want some salt and pepper but to keep it simple and light don't over season them, let the salmon speak for itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I think this recipe is great as is or to add a little spice per your flavor preference. I love that this uses the self rising flour rather than corn meal or bread crumbs. I can flatten these patties out real thin and they still puff up nicely. My Kids LOVE these. I sautéed a little onion and put in a little old bay seasoning and they were fantastic! The Kids call them “Fish Cookies” (they are 2 and 4years old). Also, don’t fret if you don’t have self rising flour, make your own. It’s a ratio; for each cup of all-purpose flour, add 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
My mother made salmom patties like this and I have continued the tradition. My family loves them. I would not recommend adding anything to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
this was a great tip..using the self rising flour. I used pancake mix and it worked very well.made the patties light. i did however add dill weed and chopped onion, as well as garlic and some cilantro i had on hand. thanks for the flour tip Del. I will try this with crab too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
After bing snowed in for a week, I was raiding the cupboards in search of food and found a can of salmon. I looked for a recipe that didn't call for bread crumbs or saltines, cornflakes...because I didn't have them on hand. This recipe was perfect! I did add some onion, dill, garlic salt, and pepper. I also dredged them in flour before frying and they turned out crispy on the outside-moist inside-& very flavorful! YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Del, Thank your Dad for me!!! I had several cans of salmon in pantry & decided on your easy recipe. It was great.. Like Paula Deen, we love southern cooking!! (added a tiny bit of sauteed onion cause my husband loves onion) THANKS..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This recipe is an old fashioned Southern style one.... I love it just the way it is. If it's too bland, just add a little salt and pepper, and a dash of Worcestershire sauce. Otherwise, I love it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I added chopped onion to the recipe. I also covered the patties in flour before frying. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States