Salmon Patties I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I made some changes to this recipe because I didn't have an onion. I added a teaspoon of dijon mustard, a teaspoon of lemon juice, half a teaspoon of black pepper, two tablespoons of sour cream, and a dash of tabasco. The patties came out delicious, and I am giving this recipe five stars because it provides a great base that you can personalize to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
647 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
These hit the spot! I've been craving salmon patties so I guess I must need the omega 3's. I looked in some old cookbooks and salmon cans used to be 16 ounces then, 15 something, and now they're 14 something. (Trivia!) I loved the reviews, and joined this web site to do this one! This is my first review, woo hoo! I implemented the sour cream and garlic salt suggestion. I also added a little lemon pepper. I ended up adding another egg and some more bread crumbs to make them stick together better. My bread crumbs were the "Italian Style" seasoned kind "Vigo" is the brand name with Romano cheese! Mmmmm I buy the honking huge container from Sams club. My batch made six hamburger size patties and I first tried frying them with a few squirts of Pam. They got too brown before they got done all the way through = no good. The next batch I fried in about a quarter inch of corn oil and they turned out great! Well of course, because they were more fattening! I drained them on paper towels and served them with cocktail sauce. My husband said that his mother used to make them smaller and thinner (Hint hint!). She was the best cook ever and as a wedding present she taught me how to make real biscuits and gravy. (May she rest in peace.) Anyway, next time I'll make 12 smaller thinner patties with the same recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This recipe is so easy and quick to make. My nine year old daughter even likes this. She did like it better when I made it with cracker crumbs rather than bread crumbs. If you're not a fish person (I'm definitely not), I'd suggest you buy the salmon that comes in a tuna-sized 3 oz. can. I bought "traditional" salmon in a big can and was grossed out by it. It literally looked like a salmon had been cut down to size and stuffed in a can, skin, bones and all. I threw it away and couldn't bring myself to eat it. The little cans are boneless/skinless and look like the tuna I'm used to seeing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Very good and easy. I added about 1 tsp of Old Bay and some fresh grated garlic. Made a dipping sauce of 1 cup sour cream, about 1 T of lemon juice and 1 tsp dill weed. (Adjust measurements to your taste.) Everyone in the family loved these. Can't wait to make them. again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I honestly have not made this particular recipe, but with one exception, it has all the same ingredients as my mom's salmon patties and we all just love them. The one exception is that we use crushed saltine crackers for the bread crumbs. It adds a lot of good flavor. Another suggestion - mom always served hers with a sauce made from a can of cream of mushroom soup, thinned with about a quarter cup of milk. She then diced one or two hard boiled eggs and stirred them into the sauce. I'm so used to having this sauce that I won't make the patties now if I don't have cream of mushroom soup in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
so simple yet so good!!! a great basic recipe...i added 1 tbs lemon juice, a sprinkling of pepper, prarika and served it with thai sweet chilli sauce and wasabi mayonaise!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ioyces

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I went the Pam route on this recipe in a non-stick pan and had absolutely no trouble with it. The patties browned and did not stick. I adjusted the recipe for health's sake using eggbeaters, and whole wheat bread crumbs with my own seasoning, and a little parsley. Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Try using very fine bread crumbs called Panko. It is in the Asian aisle. I don't know what makes this brown so evenly but it does if you do not heat the oil too hot. Use Canola oil heated slowly and fry at medium heat. Also, shred yellow squash & zuchini to the mixture. Red pepper chopped adds color. I served with wasabi mayo. Wasabi is traditionally hot but added to mayo keeps it tame. Some Asian markets sell there own version. I prefer to make into rounded balls I think because it cooks so evenly and quicker than a patty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Very good recipe, serves as a great base. I like to zip mine up a bit by adding ground cayenne pepper and some minced garlic. I also dropped in a tbl of mayo. The leftovers were great used in a sandwich the next day. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This is a really great simple recipe. Was able to make it quickly on a weeknight and enjoy a homecooked meal like grandma used to make (only grandma used to use matzoh meal instead of bread crumbs). I used green onions and added fresh dill, salt and pepper. Served with tartar sauce and Russian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

How to Cook Salmon

See how to choose and prepare salmon fillets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States