Salmon Macaroni Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I'd say 4.5 stars. This was very, very good. I admit that I made a few minor changes, but well within the boundaries of the original recipe. First, I added about half a cup of cheese (sharp cheddar, 1c. total) to the mix before baking. Could not find a small 6oz can of boneless, skinless salmon for the life of me, so I went ahead with the larger size and took out the large and stiff bones, and used a good 3/4 of the can. Also, we have an onion allergy in the house, but they can have dried minced, so I used a touch of that instead. Also, used 2 (7oz) boxes of regular Kraft Mac and cheese, it's what was in the pantry. So, the other changes made were to the topping. I had read that with the breadcrumbs, it could still be dry and powdery, and I've had that with other recipes. Someone else had recommended a cheese topping of some sort, so I combined them and came up with the best of both worlds. I sprinkled Italian seasoned bread crumbs over the top, just enough to cover, and dotted with butter, as per the recipe. Then I tossed another half cup of the cheddar on top. It came out wonderfully. There wasn't any of the powdery dust left, it adhered to the cheese or was mositened by the butter or both. Will most definitely make again. May use baked, frozen salmon next time, just to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good, I forgot the additional cheeze and just added to top at the last few minutes of baking. Used frozen trio, instead of grated onion. Even my 8 years old (very picky) liked. The only problem is the color/look of the dish is not very pretty. Also, added cayenne pepper to the top of the adult half. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Not bad, but not nearly as good as I was hoping it would be. Would probably be ten times better if I made my own mac and cheese from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My husband said he really liked this, I only thought it was ok. I added broccoli to the dish, and if i made it again I would add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Loved it. You can use a boxed mix too, just put the butter called for in a pot and add the onion, saute for a few minutes then add the cheese powder, mix it with the butter and onions in the pan, then add the milk called for, next add the musroom soup and any liquid from the salmon add the cheese, cook until thickend, then add the salmon. Add the macaroni. Melt the butter and mix it with the bread crumbs, top it and put it in the oven. I added extra cheese on top, loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE99901

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
i wasn't sure about this recipe but i loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I had such high hopes....but hubby and I both hated it. However, my parents liked it so they took some home with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
A good go-to recipe on those busy nights when you haven't planned ahead. I didn't have cheese to add and the casserole was still very tasty. I will try it again preparing it as the recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This recipe is a keeper for sure. Very tasty. I added some broccoli, and topped it with some Italian bread crumbs and some Durkee french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Pretty good. =)The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States