Salmon Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I used fresh carrots, frozen peas and frozen corn instead of the canned varieties, and a larger can of salmon than called for. I omitted the bread, but sprinkled the Parmesan cheese on top, then garnished with paprika. This turned out to be quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Pure comfort food!! To avoid a trip to the store, I used mezze penne instead of elbow, chicken stock in place of veg stock & frozen veggies in place of canned. The seafood seasoning in this is spot on, don't be shy with it. I was leary of the red wine vinegar, but decided to go ahead and add it in and I am so glad I did. This is a really good dish! I am already looking forward to the leftovers. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Pixie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
We're not fans of peas, so what I did was saute some fresh carrot with orange pepper, the onion and a little garlic and added it to the noodle mixture. I used Green Giant's yellow and white corn, Cracker Barrel's 2% white cheddar and added a little dijon and Frank's Hot Sauce. Very good "tuna" casserole. I liked that it helped me use some stray cans of food in my pantry plus I could throw in some fresh veg and get away with it. I think next time I might cut back on the noodles and double up on the veg. Maybe make a little more sauce as we like a saucier cheese sauce on our mac and cheese/tuna casseroles. I think this might be our new "tuna" casserole, Pixie! My husband, who claims to hate salmon, ate two bowls! EDITED: Even better the next day. Rewarms well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Thanks so much for this recipe. It was so good. My husband even had three bowls. I had to us chicken broth but I don't think it made a difference. I have e-mailed this recipe to my friends. I am sure they will also enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Lockhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very good! What a simple and delicious way to get more Omega-3's into your diet! The salmon makes such a great addition to mac n cheese. I made a smaller batch (about half - kind of eyeballed quantities) and only used frozen peas, as I had no other suitable veggies on hand. I omitted the vinegar, used skim milk and added some parmesan to the macaroni mixture as well as using it in the topping. Just delicious! My daughter, who is not a fish-eater, loved it! Will definitely repeat in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I LOVED this with solid white tuna (3 cans)after a few minor changes. It looked like not enough liquid for our tastes (maybe my high fiber pasta soaked more liquid up?) So, I added a can of cheddar-cheese soup and extra 2% milk (about 2 cups). And, we like Parmesan, but thought it might be too much with 3 full Tablespoons, for my kiddie's/my family's liking... so, I only used half. Great idea to add Old Bay. It added a nice depth of flavor. Delicious recipe, Pixie, that I changed only for my family's preferences. Now, I can't wait to try when I have Salmon. Thank you, for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Pure comfort food, but the veggies made me feel guilt free! I made a couple changes based on what I had available, subbed the salmon for crab, and the vegetable stock for chicken. Also left the vinegar out all together. I have made it this was a few times now, still one of my faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My little boy is an EXTREMELY picky eater - and he loved this. I made it just like the recipe except I added garlic to the sauteing onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Super delicious! I made it as written without any changes. I find regular tuna casserole is under rated anyway, but this is a lovely upgrade from the usual. Will add this to my autumn/winter meal plan. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Yummy!!! it's really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States