Salmon Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I used fresh carrots, frozen peas and frozen corn instead of the canned varieties, and a larger can of salmon than called for. I omitted the bread, but sprinkled the Parmesan cheese on top, then garnished with paprika. This turned out to be quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Pure comfort food!! To avoid a trip to the store, I used mezze penne instead of elbow, chicken stock in place of veg stock & frozen veggies in place of canned. The seafood seasoning in this is spot on, don't be shy with it. I was leary of the red wine vinegar, but decided to go ahead and add it in and I am so glad I did. This is a really good dish! I am already looking forward to the leftovers. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Pixie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I found this to be a little dry. Next time I would add a can of campbells cream of cheddar soup. The flavor was great the old bay was perfect. Being a salmon lover I could also add more and be very happy. My previously non fish loving boy ate it exclaiming over how good it was, actually all 3 of my kids did. I ran out of bread so I crushed ritz crackers with the parmesan cheese and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Thanks so much for this recipe. It was so good. My husband even had three bowls. I had to us chicken broth but I don't think it made a difference. I have e-mailed this recipe to my friends. I am sure they will also enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Lockhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is very tasty. I used frozen veggies for personal preference. Since my husband cannot eat fish, I divided the recipe into two 9" square pans. One I made with the salmon as the recipe called for. The other I used leftover rotisserie chicken and some southwestern seasoning. I reduced the cooking time since the recipe was divided. Very, very good Pixie...thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Pure comfort food, but the veggies made me feel guilt free! I made a couple changes based on what I had available, subbed the salmon for crab, and the vegetable stock for chicken. Also left the vinegar out all together. I have made it this was a few times now, still one of my faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambibambi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My little boy is an EXTREMELY picky eater - and he loved this. I made it just like the recipe except I added garlic to the sauteing onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very good! What a simple and delicious way to get more Omega-3's into your diet! The salmon makes such a great addition to mac n cheese. I made a smaller batch (about half - kind of eyeballed quantities) and only used frozen peas, as I had no other suitable veggies on hand. I omitted the vinegar, used skim milk and added some parmesan to the macaroni mixture as well as using it in the topping. Just delicious! My daughter, who is not a fish-eater, loved it! Will definitely repeat in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I had unexpected company & they rated this recipe 5 stars. I rated it a 4 b/c it was a bit dry for my taste. The seasoning is very good. Love the veggies. I would add less macaroni next time or increase the liquid. The vinegar likely cuts the fishy taste to the canned salmon, so I would not omit. A good way to add salmon to one's diet! Thx Pixie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Very great flavor but a little drier than I thought it would be. Next time I would double the milk and cheese part. I substituted the canned salmon with flaked leftover salmon from the Baked Dijon Salmon recipe, also in this site, which gave it added flavor. Also used dried seasoned stuffing mix instead of bread crumbs for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States