Salmon Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I just made this it was sooooo easy. I only changed a few things only cause I was missing seafood seasoning so I used seasoning salt, and I had no parm cheese so I just used alittle chedder sprinkled over the top. I can't wait to taste it !!! Great use of canned salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Yummy!!! it's really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Super delicious! I made it as written without any changes. I find regular tuna casserole is under rated anyway, but this is a lovely upgrade from the usual. Will add this to my autumn/winter meal plan. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
We're not fans of peas, so what I did was saute some fresh carrot with orange pepper, the onion and a little garlic and added it to the noodle mixture. I used Green Giant's yellow and white corn, Cracker Barrel's 2% white cheddar and added a little dijon and Frank's Hot Sauce. Very good "tuna" casserole. I liked that it helped me use some stray cans of food in my pantry plus I could throw in some fresh veg and get away with it. I think next time I might cut back on the noodles and double up on the veg. Maybe make a little more sauce as we like a saucier cheese sauce on our mac and cheese/tuna casseroles. I think this might be our new "tuna" casserole, Pixie! My husband, who claims to hate salmon, ate two bowls! EDITED: Even better the next day. Rewarms well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I LOVED this with solid white tuna (3 cans)after a few minor changes. It looked like not enough liquid for our tastes (maybe my high fiber pasta soaked more liquid up?) So, I added a can of cheddar-cheese soup and extra 2% milk (about 2 cups). And, we like Parmesan, but thought it might be too much with 3 full Tablespoons, for my kiddie's/my family's liking... so, I only used half. Great idea to add Old Bay. It added a nice depth of flavor. Delicious recipe, Pixie, that I changed only for my family's preferences. Now, I can't wait to try when I have Salmon. Thank you, for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I am not a picky eater and I can usually eat almost anything with pasta. I barely got through a half serving of this. Thank goodness the ingredients were fairly cheap since I tossed almost the whole batch. I gave it an extra star in case it was cook error on my part, but everyone in the family kept saying it just tasted funny. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mynattygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Very great flavor but a little drier than I thought it would be. Next time I would double the milk and cheese part. I substituted the canned salmon with flaked leftover salmon from the Baked Dijon Salmon recipe, also in this site, which gave it added flavor. Also used dried seasoned stuffing mix instead of bread crumbs for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I had unexpected company & they rated this recipe 5 stars. I rated it a 4 b/c it was a bit dry for my taste. The seasoning is very good. Love the veggies. I would add less macaroni next time or increase the liquid. The vinegar likely cuts the fishy taste to the canned salmon, so I would not omit. A good way to add salmon to one's diet! Thx Pixie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Very good! What a simple and delicious way to get more Omega-3's into your diet! The salmon makes such a great addition to mac n cheese. I made a smaller batch (about half - kind of eyeballed quantities) and only used frozen peas, as I had no other suitable veggies on hand. I omitted the vinegar, used skim milk and added some parmesan to the macaroni mixture as well as using it in the topping. Just delicious! My daughter, who is not a fish-eater, loved it! Will definitely repeat in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My little boy is an EXTREMELY picky eater - and he loved this. I made it just like the recipe except I added garlic to the sauteing onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Mouse's Macaroni and Cheese

This mac and cheese is super cheesy, and super easy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States